Sardar Singh
Sardar Singh will lead team India during the 24th Sultan Azlan Shah CupReuters

The Indian Hockey Team will head over to Malaysia with a strong looking squad for the prestigious 24th Sultan Azlan Shah Cup, which will be held in Ipoh. The competition is scheduled to start from 5 April and will end on 12 May.

The Indian team hope to do well under their new caoch, Paul van Ass, as this tournament in Malaysia will prove to be his first assignment. Sardar Singh will captain the Indian side and his deputy remains to be goalkeeper PR Sreejesh.

The Indian team comprises of players such as Satbir Singh, Mandeep Singh, Harjot Singh, Ramadeep Singh, SV Sunil, Akashdeep Singh, Nikkin Thimmaiah and a host number of other players make up the 18 member squad.

The Indian team is primarily the same as compared to that of the Champions Trophy, but a few players have failed to make the cut.

Chinglensana Singh Kangujam, Satbir Singh and Mandeep Singh are the new changes, who are expected to play an important role when India go on the attack.

"The Sultan Azlan Shah Cup will be my first tournament as the coach of this team and I look forward to a positive start by doing well in this tournament," PTI quoted van Ass as saying.

The Indian team need to be on top of their game with top teams such as Australia and Korea also in the mix, along with hosts Malaysia.

It has not been long since the new Indian coach took over the job, replacing Australian Terry Walsh at the helm of Indian Hockey. Since the Dutchman joined the team officially by mid-March, he has not had much time to spend with the players.

"The players and I are still trying to know each other both, professionally as well as on the personal front. By the intensity and efforts put in by these players on the field, during the preparations, gives me much confidence in this team and a hope to have a great start as one unit," he said.

"I have seen them play in Champions Trophy last year and they are turning into a formidable line-up who are keen to take on new challenges," added the Dutchman.

India's Complete Squad for 24th Sultan Azlan Shah Cup:

PR Sreejesh, Harjot Singh, Gurbaj Singh, Rupinder Pal Singh, Birendra Lakra, Kothajit Singh, VR Raghunath, Ramandeep Singh, SV Sunil, Akashdeep Singh, Nikkin Thimmaiah, Satbir Singh, Mandeep Singh, Manpreet Singh, Sardar Singh, Dharamvir Singh, Chinglensana Singh and SK Uthappa