indian gp
It is now three straight years that the Indian Grand Prix will not feature in the Formula 1 CalendarReuters

Once again, India have lost the rights to host the Formula 1 (F1) after three successful seasons that made Ferrari's Sebastian Vettel a household name in the country. 

A provisional list of as many as 21 Grand Prix was announced for the F1 2016 season following the end of the World Motor Sport Council meeting on Friday in Mexico City.

Azerbaijan is set to enter history books, as the transcontinental nation - situated at the crossroads of Eastern Europe and Western Asia - will have its inaugural F1 race on 17 July, 2016.

The International Automobile Federation (FIA) approved the 21-race calendar for the season that will start on 3 April in Australia and end in Abu Dhabi on 27 November, with the British GP on 26 June.

The next season will also see German Grand Prix making a comeback, after the annual automobile race was omitted from the race calendar this year, owing to financial issues.

Even though India hosted three consecutive successful races - 2011, 2012, and 2013 - the country does not feature in the provisional list of GPs for 2016.

The Indian GP had taken place at the Buddh International Circuit in Greater Noida, Uttar Pradesh. However, the race didn't see the light of the day after 2013, following tax dispute between the FIA and the Uttar Pradesh government, apart from bureaucratic hurdles.

India making a comeback to the F1 calendar in 2016 was strongly mooted, with even Formula One boss Bernie Ecclestone stating last year that they were working on making Indian GP return in 2016.

Ferrari's Vettel – earlier with Red Bull - clinched the 5.125 km Indian GP for three straight years.

In the other highlights of the provisional list, the Russian GP has moved from October to April while Malaysia moves from March to September. The British Grand Prix moves two weeks forward to 26 June to avoid a clash with Wimbledon 2016.

The campaign is scheduled to conclude in Abu Dhabi on 27 November.

The number of Grand Prix to be held in 2015 is 19. 

The provisional calendar for 2016 in full:

April 3 - Australia
April 10 - China
April 24 - Bahrain
May 1 - Sochi
May 15 - Spain
May 29 - Monaco
June 12 - Canada
June 26 - UK
July 3 - Austria
July 17 - Baku
July 31 - Germany
August 7 - Hungary
August 28 - Belgium
September 4 - Italy
September 18 - Singapore
September 25 - Malaysia
October 9 - Japan
October 23 - USA (Austin)
October 30 - Mexico
November 13 - Brazil
November 27 - Abu Dhabi