At the first session of Telangana Legislative Assembly, which met on Monday, 9 May, in Hyderabad at 11 am, 117-members took oath as MLAs. The 119-member Assembly session was adjourned to Tuesday after the swearing-in of the MLAs.

Protem Speaker Jana Reddy administered the oath of office to ministers and all newly elected MLAs in the House.

First, Telangana Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao took oath as MLA in the name of God. After that Telangana ministers, female MLAs and the remaining male MLAs sworn-in as members of the House.

Among the total 119-members of the State Assembly, 63 are TRS members, 21 Congress members and 20 are TDP-BJP alliance members. MIM has seven members, YSR Congress has three members and BSP has two members. There are two independent MLAs in the House.

Telangana Governor ESL Narasimhan administered oath of office to the Legislative Council vice-chairman Nethi Vidyasagar as the Chairman and to K Jana Reddy as Protem Speaker earlier in the day.

Telangana Speaker's Election

A formal notification has been issued to elect Telananga Assembly Speaker on Monday. Nominations for the post will be received till 5 pm of the day. Leaders of TRS are taking efforts for unanimous election of Madhusudanachari as the Assembly Speaker. It is said that the Speaker's election is almost unanimous.

Before the session of Telangana Legislature, MLAs and MLCs paid obituary to martyrs of Telangana movement at Gunpark.

The sessions of Telangana Legislative Council, which has 40 members, also started on Monday. A total of 30 members of the legislative coucil (MLCs) took oath on the occasion.

Protest in Parliament over Ordinance on Polavaram dam

Members of Parliament (MPs) from Telangana and Odisha on Monday protested in the 16th Lok Sabha session over the Centre's Ordinance on Polavaram irrigation project in residual Andhra Pradesh. The MPs storm the well and shouted slogans against the government's ordinance on the dam.

The Centre's ordinance facilitates the smooth execution of the proposed Polavaram dam, by rehabilitating inhabitants of the areas to be submerged when the irrigation dam completes.

MPs of Odisha's BJD and TRS, carrying placards, shouted slogans against the project. They said that the proposed irrigation dam is against the interests of tribal people living in the area.

Chandrasekhar Rao is insisting the Centre for a consensus of Telangana, Andhra Pradesh, Chhattisgarh and Odisha, the four stakeholder states on the dam issue.