isl 2016
Romeo Fernandes of FC Goa tries to get past Mumbai City FC goalkeeper Amrinder Singh in ISL 2016ISL / Press release

Both FC Goa and Atletico de Kolkata (ATK) share a good deal of history over the years in the Indian Super League. Therefore, the clash between the two top Indian football sides is always one to watch out for. WATCH THE MATCH HERE.

The ISL 2016 points table at the moment shows that FC Goa, lying rock bottom with three league games to go, are in major trouble at the moment. Wins in all their remaining fixtures can only assure them a top four berth going into the ISL 2016 semifinals. 

ATK, on the other hand, are third on the table currently with three league games to go. A win for the away side on Thursday can give them a major hope of making it to the last four of the Indian football tournament for the third-straight season.

While the importance of the coaches and the players remain prime, the share of injuries to players, thanks to the crunchy schedule of the league, do make it difficult for the teams to perform to the best of their abilities.

Zico's FC Goa will not be able to field marquee player and Brazil veteran Lucio owing to injury but midfield general Joffre and striker Julio Cesar are available.

Jose Molina's ATK, meanwhile, are still not sure whether Canadian forward Iain Hume will be available for the FC Goa match as well.

Team news

FC Goa: Out - Sanjay Balmuchu, Denzil Franco and Lucio (all injuries).

ATK: Major doubts - Iain Hume (missed last match), Sameehg Doutie (missed last two), Lalrindika Ralte and Henrique Sereno.


FC Goa: Laxmikanth Kattimani, Subhasish Roy Chowdhury, Sukhdev Patil, Lucio, Debabrata Roy, Denzil Franco, Fulganco Cardozo, Gregory Arnolin, Keenan Almeida, Raju Gaikwad, Sanjay Balmuchu, Joffre, Mandar Rao Dessai, Pratesh Shirodkar, Richarlyson, Romeo Fernandes, Trindade Goncalves, Julio Cesar, Rafael Coelho, Reinaldo, Robin Singh, Luciano Sobrosa, Rafael Dumas.

Atletico de Kolkata: Debjit Majumder, Dani Mallo, Shilton Paul, Arnab Mondal, Henrique Fonseca Sereno, Jose Arroyo, Keegan Pereira, Kinshuk Debnath, Prabir Das, Pritam Kotal, Robert Lalthamuana, Abinash Ruidas, Bidyananda Singh, Bikash Jairu, Bikramjit Singh, Borja Fernandez, Javi Lara, Jewel Raja, Lalrindika Ralte, Ofentse Nato, Sameehg Doutie, Stephen Pearson, Helder Postiga, Ian Hume, Juan Belencoso.