Fahadh Faasil, Aashiq Abu and Dileesh Pothen inaugurate Saparya 2016
Fahadh Faasil, Aashiq Abu and Dileesh Pothen inaugurate Saparya 2016.Jees John Adukuzhiyil/Facebook

The much-awaited Mahatma Gandhi (MG) University Youth Festival titled 'Saparya 2016' has kick-started Thursday, March 10, at Al-Azhar College in Thodupuzha, Idukki

The procession of the 27th youth festival began at 3 p.m. Thursday followed by the inauguration ceremony that was graced by the "Maheshinte Prathikaram" team, including actors Fahadh Faasil, Jaffer Idukki, producer Aashiq Abu, director Dileesh Pothan and music composer Bijibal. The Fahadh starrer, which was opened to positive response from critics and audience, was completely shot in Idukki.

More than 3,000 students from 319 colleges under MG University Kottayam will participate in the five-day long cultural fest. The competitions began Thursday with Thiruvathirakali at stage one (Kalabhavan Mani Nagar), for which students of St Teresas College, Ernakulam, won the first prize. Mime and Bharatanatyam (male) were also conducted at the stages in ONV Nagar and Mrinalini Sarabhai Nagar, respectively, on the day.

The competitions on the day two began at 9 a.m. Friday with mono-act. The other competition items for the day are mimicry, skit, Ottamthullal, Kathakali, Keralanadanam, Bharatanatyam (female), light music (female), kavitha parayanam, elocution (Malayalam), quiz, short story (English, Hindi), essay writing (English, Hindi), poetry writing (English, Hindi) and Painting. The cultural fest —  Saparya 2016 — will be concluded March 14.

Check the Winners' List Here

Events First prize Second Prize Third Prize
Thiruvathirakali St Teresas College, Ernakulam S.N.M. College Malyankara Nirmala College Muvattupuzha
Bharatanatyam (Male) Vipidas S (RLV College Of Music And Fine Arts – A grade) Sandeep Sukumaran (Mar Athanasious College Kothamangalam – A Grade)
  • Xavier Stalone

(St.Alberts College – A Grade)

  • Ramdas K S

(St Marys College Manargad – A Grade)

Mime Al-Ameen College Edathala U.C. College Aluva
  • Assumption College, Changanacherry
  • B.C.M. College, Kottayam
Kathakali Arya KP (Maharajas College Ernakulam) Remya Krishnan R (DB College Keezhoor) Premsankar KS (RLV College)
Bharatanatyam (female) Architha Anishkumar(St Teresas College)Gopika Vasanth

(DB College Thalayolaparambu)

Kavya Rajagopal(Rajagiri School of Engineering &Tech,Ernakulam) Aiswarya A.D.(M. E. S College, Ernakulam)
Ottamthullal Arya KP (Maharajas College Ernakulam) Sona Sebastian (SH College,Thevara) Dipin Das AD ( Sree Sankara College, Ernakulam)
Light Music Vocal Indian (female) Petreeza Sabu (St. Teresas College)Anu Maria Rose (Maharajas College, Ernakulam) Anjali PM (RIT, Pampady) Anjali Anand (RLV, Ernakulam)
Quiz Alan David (CMS College, Kottayam)Alex Alosyous (Maharajas College, Ernakulam) K. S. Karthik (U.C. College, Aluva) Krishnadas KV (DB College, Thalayolaparambu)
Kavithaparayanam Anagha J (N.S.S Hindu College) Jickson Thomas (C.M.S College, Kottayam) Sidharth K Bhattathiri ( S. H. College, Thevara)
Mono-act Akshara A B (St. Xaviers college For Women)Abhijith J (St. Alberts College, Ernakulam) Dona Denny (St. Teresas College, Ernakulam)Amrita Mohan (U C College, Aluva) Jincy Joseph (SH College , Thevara)Amala Rose Kurian (Assumption College, Changanacherry)
Mimicry Amal Ashok (Sree Sankara College, Ernakulam) Balakrishnan C (Maharajas College, Ernakulam) Jijina Jayaraj (RIT, Pampady)R. Anuthara (Kuriakose Gregorios College, Pampady)
Skit S H College, Thevara Maharajas College, ErnakulamRLV College, Thrippunithura Sree Sankara College, Kalady

Check out the promo video of Saparya 2016 here:

Check out photos of the event here: