James Milner [L] with England football team manager Roy Hodgson during a press conference.Reuters

Roy Hodgson has named a 26-member provisional squad for the England football team ahead of the Euro 2016 on Monday. Manchester United youngster Marcus Rashford has been included in the squad alongside Premier League player of the season 2015-16, Jamie Vardy.

Arsenal winger Theo Walcott has, however, missed the cut.

Apart from Vardy, the other Leicester City player to have been named in the squad is midfielder Danny Drinkwater, who scored a sensational long-ranger goal against Chelsea in their final Premier League game of the season at the Stamford Bridge on Sunday.

Newcastle United midfielder Andros Townsend, 24, also features in the squad. Newcastle has been relegated from the Premier League this season.

"When we were thinking how many players were wanted, there was uncertainty over Jack Wilshere and Jordan Henderson, both are medically fit and it was better to add players to the squad. I am making life harder for myself by naming 26 which has to be reduced to 23," said Hodgson during the press conference on Monday, as quoted by the BBC.

"Danny Welbeck's injury did disrupt my plan because it is about balancing the team. We had a very good qualification campaign and you don't want to lose players from it. We will miss the options he gives us.

"Marcus Rashford is one of the contenders. Competition is strong and he deserves to be selected for the main squad but i am pleased someone who has had an outstanding end to the season has a great future. He will have the chance to knock someone off their perch."

Euro 2016 squads: England

Goalkeepers - Fraser Forster, Joe Hart, Tom Heaton.

Defenders - Ryan Bertrand, Gary Cahill, Nathaniel Clyne, Danny Rose, Chris Smalling, John Stones, Kyle Walker.

Midfielders - Dele Alli, Ross Barkley, Fabian Delph, Eric Dier, Danny Drinkwater, Jordan Henderson, Adam Lallana, James Milner, Raheem Sterling, Andros Townsend, Jack Wilshere.

Forwards - Harry Kane, Marcus Rashford, Wayne Rooney, Daniel Sturridge, Jamie Vardy.