Spain football team
Spain coach Vicente del Bosque [R] during a training session with his national team.Reuters

A 25-member provisional squad has been announced by Spain football team coach Vicente del Bosque ahead of Euro 2016. Chelsea striker Diego Costa is the most notable absentee.

Costa's club teammates Cesar Azpilicueta, Pedro Rodriguez and Cesc Fabregas have, however, made the list. 

Former Chelsea and Liverpool striker Fernando Torres, who currently plays for Atletico Madrid, has also not found a place in the squad. Manchester United's Juan Mata is another who doesn't feature, but his club teammate David de Gea has been named among the three goalkeepers.

Arsenal midfielder Santi Cazorla is also not in the list. Gunners fullback Hector Bellerin, meanwhile, is among the list of stand-byes.

Spain are in Group D with Croatia, Czech Republic and Turkey and are chasing a third successive European Championship title.

Euro 2016 squads: Spain: Goalkeepers: Iker Casillas, David de Gea, Sergio Rico.

Defenders: Sergio Ramos, Gerard Pique, Dani Carvajal, Jordi Alba, Marc Bartra, Cesar Azpilicueta, Mikel San Jose.

Midfielders: Juanfran, Bruno Soriano, Sergio Busquets, Koke, Thiago Alcantara, Andres Iniesta, Isco, David Silva, Pedro Rodriguez, Cesc Fabregas.

Forwards: Saul Niguez, Aritz Aduriz, Nolito, Alvaro Morata, Lucas Vasquez.