J Jayalalithaa
J JayalalithaaReuters

The Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) is leading in 37 seats in Tamil Nadu.

Counting of votes began in 39 Lok Sabha constituencies and one parliamentary seat in Puducherry in Tamil Nadu at around 8 a.m. on Friday.

The AIADMK is leading in 37 constituencies, while Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and its alliance are leading in two constituencies. If the Jayalalithaa-led party manages to maintain its lead till the end, the party will surpass the numbers predicted by the exit polls.

The exit polls had projected that AIADMK will win 22-35 seats, but the party is heading for a big win in the state.

The other big party in the state –DMK – is trailing in all the constituencies. According to preliminary reports, DMK candidates Dayanidhi Maran and T R Baalu Thanjavur are trailing in Chennai Central and Thanjavur, respectively. A.Raja trails behind AIADMK candidate Gopalakrishnan in Nilgris.

BJP's Pon Radhakrishnan is leading in Kanniyakumari, however, he is facing tough fight from Congress' Vasanthakumar.