A rangoli showing a map of India with an image of Modi, prime ministerial candidate for BJP, is pictured in the premises of the party's regional office in the western Indian city of Ahmedabad
Representational imageReuters

Despite BJP being in the opposition corner of the state assembly, Karnataka voters have clearly shown inclination towards saffron party's Prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi to form the new central government in Delhi.

The support for BJP has been so overwhelming that the high-profile Congress party candidate, Nandan Nilekani (former chairman of UIDAI (Unique Identification Authority of India) and Infosys co-founder), who was seen as nemesis of the record 5 time MP Ananth Kumar in Bangalore South, faced a major drubbing. He lost the battle by a huge margin of more than 2.28 lakh votes against BJP veteran leader.

Other high-profile defeats include, movie star Ramya (Mandya), former chief minister HD Kumara Swamy (Chikkaballapur), daughter-in-law of Kannada film icon, Rajkumar- Geetha Shivrajkumar (Shimoga) among others. Veteran Congress leader A.H Vishwanath got defeated by a youth journalist Pratap Simha (BJP) in Mysore, whereas former Chief-minister N Dharam Singh is also on the verge of defeat at the hands of Bhagawanth Khuba (BJP) who is leading the counts with more than 80,000 votes at the time of reporting.

As per the latest report, BJP has secured 17 seats, while Congress and JD-S have managed to win 9 and 2 seats respectively in the 16th Lok Sabha elections in the Karnataka region.

2014 Lok Sabha Election Results (Karnataka Region):

Constituencies Winning Party Candidate Name Winning Margin
Chikodi INC (Indian National Congress) PRAKASH BABANNA HUKKERI 3272
Belgaum BJP (Bharatiya Janata Party) ANGADI SURESH CHANNABASAPPA 75860
Bijapur (SC) BJP (Bharatiya Janata Party) RAMESH JIGAJINAGI 69819
Gulbarga (SC) INC (Indian National Congress) MALLIKARJUN KHARGE 74733
Raichur (ST) INC (Indian National Congress) B.V.NAYAK 1499
*Bidar BJP (Bharatiya Janata Party) BHAGWANTH KHUBA 92,222
Koppal BJP (Bharatiya Janata Party) KARADI SANGANNA AMARAPPA 32414
Bellary (ST) BJP (Bharatiya Janata Party) B. SREERAMULU 85144
Haveri BJP (Bharatiya Janata Party) UDASI SHIVAKUMAR CHANNABASAPPA 87571
Dharwad BJP (Bharatiya Janata Party) PRALHAD JOSHI 113657
Uttara Kannada BJP (Bharatiya Janata Party) ANANTKUMAR HEGDE 140700
Davanagere BJP (Bharatiya Janata Party) G M SIDDESHWARA 17607
Shimoga BJP (Bharatiya Janata Party) B. S. YEDDYURAPPA 363305
Udupi-Ckikmagalur BJP (Bharatiya Janata Party) SHOBHA KARANDLAJE 181643
Hassan JD-S (Janata Dal - Secular) H.D. DEVEGOWDA 100462
Dakshina Kannada BJP (Bharatiya Janata Party) NALIN KUMAR KATEEL 143709
Chitradurga (SC) INC (Indian National Congress) B.N.CHANDRAPPA 101291
Tumkur INC (Indian National Congress) MUDDAHANUMEGOWDA.S.P. 74241
Mandya JD-S (Janata Dal - Secular) C.S.PUTTARAJU 5518
Mysore BJP (Bharatiya Janata Party) PRATHAP SIMHA 31608
Chamrajnagar (SC) INC (Indian National Congress) R. DHRUVANARAYANA 141182
Bangalore Rural INC (Indian National Congress) D K SURESH 231480
Bangalore North BJP (Bharatiya Janata Party) D.V SADANANDA GOWDA 229764
Bangalore Central BJP (Bharatiya Janata Party) P.C. MOHAN 137500
Bangalore South BJP (Bharatiya Janata Party) ANANTH KUMAR 228575
Chikkaballapur INC (Indian National Congress) M VEERAPPA MOILY 10237
Kolar(SC) INC (Indian National Congress) K.H.MUNIYAPPA 47850

[*Bidar: Counting still in progress with Bhagawanth Khuba (BJP) leading with more than 80,000 votes against former Karnataka CM, N. Dharam Singh (Congress)]

[Update: Bhagawanth Khuba (BJP) wins the Bidar Lok Sabha constituency with a big margin of 92,222 votes against former Karnataka CM, N. Dharam Singh (Congress) ]