Ramshankar Prasad, BJP spokeperson
Ramshankar Prasad, BJP spokeperson

Southern state of India, Karnataka which is governed by Congress state unit KPCC (Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee) seems to face a major embarrassment in the 16th Lok Sabha election.

Of the total 28 Lok Sabha seats, the ruling government is currently leading only in eight constituencies, whereas the BJP is leading the pack with 18 seats. Regional party JD(S) is ahead only in two constituencies and Arvind Kejriwal's Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) is yet to open the account.

Congress trump card Nandan Nelikeni, former chairman of UIDAI (Unique Identification Authority of India) and Infosys co-founder, who was expected give tough fight to BJP's five time MP, Ananth Kumar is trailing by more than 38,000 votes, reported Deccan Herald.

Karnataka Former chief minister, D.V Sadananda Gowda and P.C. Mohan are leading the table in Bangalore North and Central constituencies respectively.

Former Prime minister, H.D Devegowda is leading in his Hassan Lok Sabha constituency.

Latest news is that, BJP's first-time, MP aspirants B.S Yeddyurappa (former Karnataka chief minister) and his confidante Shobha Karandlaje have won the Shimoga and Udupi-Chikmagalur by over three lakh votes and one lakh votes respectively.