Narendra Modi
Narendra ModiReuters

Narendra Modi-led Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has swept majority of the states in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections, however, the party failed to win even a single seat in Kerala.

The counting for the Lok Sabha Elections began at 8 pm across the country on Friday. There are 20 parliamentary constituencies in Kerala, of which 12 are won by Congress-led UDF and the remaining eight seats by LDF.

BJP was expected to make a histoical win in Kerala, but it failed to open an account in the state. However, the party's vote percentage improved from 8 percent to 13 percent. 

The party senior leader O Rajagopal gave a tough fight to Congress' Shashi Tharoor in Thiruvananthapuram constituency. Tharoor was trailing behind Rajagopal initially, but he took lead later and won by a margin of over 14,000 seats.

LDF candidate Bennet Abraham (CPI) finished third in the contest.

The CPI (M)-led LDF has performed better than the last elections. LDF has gained some seats, while UDF's numbers went down from 16 to 12 in the current elections.

Malayalam actor Innocent, UDF candidate K. V. Thomas and P. Karunakaran of LDF (CPM) are among the winners of the 2014 elections in Kerala.

Check Below the Winners of the 2014 Kerala Lok Sabha Elections

Thiruvananthapuram – Shashi Tharoor – UDF (Congress)

Attingal – A.Sampath - LDF (CPM)

Kasaragod - P. Karunakaran – LDF (CPM)

Kannur - P. K. Sreemathy – LDF (CPM)

Vadakara - Mullappally Ramachandran – UDF (Congress)

Wayanad - M.I. Shanavas – UDF (Congress)

Kozhikode - M. K. Raghavan - UDF (Congress)

Malappuram - E. Ahamed - UDF (IUML)

Ponnani - E.T. Mohammed Basheer – UDF (IUML)

Palakkad - M.B. Rajesh – LDF (CPM)

Alathur - P. K. Biju – LDF (CPM)

Thrissur - C.N. Jayadevan – LDF (CPI)

Chalakudy – Innocent – LDF (Independent)

Ernakulam - K. V. Thomas – UDF (INC)

Idukki - Adv. Joice George – LDF (Independent)

Kottayam - Jose K. Mani – UDF (KC(M))

Alappuzha - K.C. Venugopal – UDF (Congress)

Mavelikkara - Kodikunnil Suresh – UDF (Congress)

Pathanamthitta - Anto Antony – UDF (Congress)

Kollam - N. K. Premachandran – UDF (Revolutionary Socialist Party)