Nandamuri Balakrishna, son of Telugu Desam Party (TDP) founder and legendary actor NT Rama Rao, has won by a landslide in Hindupur Assembly constituency, in the elections held simultaneously to both Lok Sabha and Andhra Pradesh (AP) state Assembly.

Hindupur constituency in Anantapur is the traditional bastion of the Nandamuri family since late NTR days. Balakrishna's elder brother N Harikrishna had also represented the seat in the past.

Now, as TDP is likely to form the state government in Seemandhra (the residuary AP), Balakrishna is poised to play a key role in the new government. TDP president Nara Chandrababu Naidu is Balakrishna's brother-in-law, and Naidu's son Nara Lokesh has married Balakrishna's daughter Brahmani.

Yesteryear actress Roja has won the Nagari Assembly seat in Chittoor distrct in Seemandhra. She has contested the seat from YSRCP, which is led by YS Jagan Mohan Reddy. Roja defeated senior TDP leader Gali Muddu Krishnama Naidu. In fact, Roja had first joined TDP, before defecting to YSRCP.

TDP candidate Ganta Srinivasa Rao has won the Bheemili Assembly seat in Visakhapatnam. Damerla Janardhan from Ongole in Prakasham district, Kadiri Baburao from Kanigiri, Eluri Sambasiva Rao from Parchur Assembly constituencies have also won for TDP.

TDP's Rayapati Sambasiva Rao has won the Narasaraopet Lok Sabha constituency in Guntur district, and Galla Jayadev has won the Guntur Lok Sabha constituency. Jayadev is the brother-in-law of popular actor Mahesh Babu.

In Seemandhra, TDP is likely to be the clear winner as per the leads, while TRS was leading in Telangana with more than 60 Assembly segments among the total 117 seats.

TDP chief Naidu, who has won Kuppam Assembly constituency in Chittor district, described TDP's lead and probable landslide victory in the state Assembly elections in Seemandhra as people's victory. He vowed to fulfill all poll promises made to the people.

Click here for the latest leads/results of the Assembly election n AP.