phase 3 lok sabha polls
The dates for Maharashra, Haryana assembly elections are out.Reuters

The Election Commission on Saturday, September 21, announced dates for the assembly elections in Maharashtra and Haryana. Briefing the media, Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora said that the assembly elections in both Haryana and Maharashtra will be held on October 21. Counting of votes will take place on October 24.

CEC Sunil Arora said that 90 seats of Haryana and 288 of Maharashtra will go to polls.

"The 5-year term of the Legislative Assemblies of Haryana and Maharashtra expires on 2nd November and 9th November," stated the poll body.

As per the EC, Haryana has 1.82 crore registered voters and Maharashtra has 8.94 crore voters.

sunil arora
CEC Sunil Arora addressing a press briefing in Delhi.Twitter/ANI

Appealing to political parties, CEC Sunil Arora stressed on the use of environment-friendly materials during the elections campaign and not plastic.

The poll panel had convened a press conference at 12 pm today.

The Model code of conduct is in effect and is applicable to all candidates, political parties, the state government concerned and the Centre.

Jharkhand assembly elections will be held later as it may involve several phases due to the Left-wing extremism threat and deployment of forces. Back in 2014, Jharkhand voted in five phases between November 25 and December 20; the results were announced on December 23.

By-elections in 64 constituencies

Along with the assembly elections, by-elections to 64 constituencies across Arunachal Pradesh, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Assam, Gujarat, Himachal Pradesh, Karnataka, Kerala, MP, Meghalaya, Odisha, Puducherry, Punjab, Rajasthan, Sikkim, Tamil Nadu, Telangana  and Uttar Pradesh will be held on October 21 and counting will be on October 24.