east bengal
East Bengal will be expected to produce an emphatic display in their final I-League 2016 home game of the seasonIANS

Indian football giants East Bengal wrote their name in history once again by lifting the seventh consecutive Calcutta Football League (CFL) title on Thursday. The Red and Golds achieved the feat after getting past Mohammedan Sporting 1-0 at the Kalyani Stadium.

East Bengal ended their season with a perfect record -- 24 points from eight games; this includes the three points earned by the team following their walkover against Mohun Bagan last week. The Kolkata derby never really saw the light of the day at the CFL 2016 after the former I-League champions didn't participate in the match.

The final decision on the Kolkata derby is set to arrive from the IFA (Indian Football Association) on September 20. However, even if East Bengal don't get the three points, they still become the champions. Mohun Bagan currently stay second on 19 points from eight games. 

East Bengal's mercurial South Korean forward Do Dong-Hyun scored the only goal for his side against Mohammedan Sporting on Thursday via a penalty but it was Lalrindika Ralte who took away the man of the match honours.

The Red and Golds now take on Aryan Club on September 18 in their final game of Calcutta Football League 2016.