• ABVP candidates will all four seats in Delhi University pollsTwitter
  • Delhi University (DU) North Campus
    Delhi UniversityReuters

The BJP-affiliated Akhil Bhartiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) has won all four seats in Delhi University student union election, with a margin of over 4,500 votes on each seat, reports said.

ABVP's Satinder Awana was elected for the presidential post, while Sunny Dedha was elected vice-president. Anjali Rana and Chhattarpal Yadav were elected to the posts of secretary and joint secretary respectively.

Congress-affiliated National Students' Union of India (NSUI) came second in all four seats, while Aam Aadmi Party's student wing Chhatra Yuva Sangharsh Samiti (CYSS) registered a distant third position.

Last year too, ABVP had swept the polls trouncing NSUI to bag all four seats. The hashtag #ABVPRocks has been trending on Twitter since the DUSU poll verdict came out.

The election, which was held in 127 polling centres across 42 campuses, recorded over 43% voter turnout.

Many believed that the debut of AAP's CYSS would eat into the vote shares of Congress' NSUI and BJP's ABVP. However, the latest verdict is seen as a setback for Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal, whose so-called anti-corruption party had swept the Delhi Assembly elections earlier this year.

Check out latest tweets on election results of Delhi University Student Union: