The 7th edition of the Vijay Awards, which was held in Chennai recently, was a star-studded event with many south film celebrities attending the awards ceremony.

Actor Dhanush won the best actor award for his role in his wife Aishwarya's directorial debut "3". Thanking his fans on Twitter, Dhanush tweeted, "Just grabbed my best actor vijay award.I sincerely thank my fans.without u guys nothing s possible.thanks 2 vijay awards nd the jury(cont)."

"And my special thanks to vijay sir for his generous words.he is anyday a better and bigger star."

Actress Samantha grabbed the best actress award for "her work in "Neethaane En Ponvasantham."

Crime-thriller "Vazhakku En 18/9", which won the coveted National Award for best film, once again bagged the award (Vijay award) in the same category. The film's director, Balaji Sakthivel lifted the best director trophy.

Bollywood star Shah Rukh Khan was conferred with the Chevalier Sivaji award (in honour of thespian Sivaji Ganesan) for his excellence in Indian cinema. The actor, dressed in a black suit, received the award from versatile actor Kamal Haasan. When Shah Rukh received the award, he was flanked by actors Vijay and Prabhu (son of Sivaji Ganesan).

Shah Rukh also danced along with Vijay for his famous song "Google Google" from "Thupakki". The song crooned by Vijay was chosen as the best song of the year. Vijay won two awards - best entertainer and favourite hero of the year 2012.

Here is complete list of winners

Chevalier Shivaji award: Shah Rukh Khan

Best Actor male: Dhanush ('3')

Best Actress female: Samanatha Ruth Prabhu ('Neethaane En Ponvasantham')

Best film: 'Vazahkku Enn 18/9'

Best Director: Balaji Shaktivel

Best Comedian: Santhanam ('Oru Oru Kannadi')

Best Villian: Kannada actor Suddeep ('Naan Ee')

Best Music Director: D Imman (Kumki)

Best Debut Actor Male: Vikram Prabhu ('Kumki')

Best Debut Female: Varalakshmi Sarath Kumar ('Poda Podi')

Best Debut director: Balaji Tharaneethran ('Nanduvula Konjam Pakkatha Kaanom')

Best Supporting actor male: Sathyaraj ('Naban')

Best Supporting actress: Anupama ('Muppozhudhum Un Karpaigal')

Best Film crew: 'Pizza'

Best Dialogue: M Rajesh ('Oru Oru Kannad')

Best Screenplay writer of the year 2012: Karthick Subburaj (Pizza)

Best Face of the year: Udhayanidhi Stalin

Best Find 2012: Anirudh Ravichander

Best Entertainer: Vijay ('Thuppakki')

Best Female Playback: Ramya ('Neethane En Ponvasantham')

Best Lyricist: Thamarai ('Muppozhudhum Un Karpaigal')

Best Choreographer: Robert ('Poda Padai')

Best Costume Design: Rajendran ('Aaravan')

Best Art Design: RK Vijay Murugan ('Aaravan')

Best Cinematographer: Gopi Amarnath (Pizza)

Favorite Hero: Vijay ('Thuppakki')

Favourite director: AR Murugadoss