The National Capital Region (NCR) of Delhi has more than 901 lakh registered vehicles, and vehicular emission has become a major source of air pollution in the city. To deal with the situation, the Delhi Government is implementing a new traffic law, widely referred to as the odd-even rule, for two weeks from 1 January.

The plying of non-transport four-wheelers having registration numbers ending in odd digits (1, 3, 5, 7 and 9) shall be prohibited on even dates of the month (2, 4, 6, 8, 10, and so on), and plying of the non-transport vehicles with registration number ending in even digits (0, 2, 4, 6 and 8) shall be prohibited on odd dates of the month (1, 3, 5, 7, 9, 11, and so on). During this period, the rule will be in force from 8 am to 8 pm on all days except Sundays.

Violation of these orders will attract a fine of Rs 2,000 in accordance with the provisions of Sub- section (1) of Section 194 of the Motor Vehicles Act, 1988, the Delhi government has said in a statement.

Here is the list of vehicles that are exempted from the Delhi government's odd-even rule:

1. Vehicles of the President of lndia

2. Vehicles of the vice-president of lndia

3. Vehicles of the prime minister of lndia

4. Vehicles of governors of states.

5. Vehicles of Chief Justice of lndia

6. Vehicle of the speaker of the Lok Sabha

7. Vehicles of Union ministers

8. Vehicles of the leaders of Opposition in the Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha

9. Vehicles of chief ministers of states and Union Territories, except the chief minister of Delhi

10. Vehicles of the judges of the Supreme Court

11. Vehicle of the deputy chairman of the Rajya Sabha

12. Vehicle of the deputy speaker of the Lok Sabha

13. Vehicles of lieutenant-governors of Union Territories

14. Vehicles of the judges of the Delhi High Court

15. Vehicle of the Lokayukta

16. Emergency Vehicles, ie, ambulances, those belonging to the fire brigade, hospitals, prisons, hearses

17. Enforcement vehicles, ie, vehicles of the police, Transport Department GNCTD, vehicles authorised by the Divisional Commissioner GNCTD, paramilitary forces, etc.

18. Vehicles bearing Ministry of Defence number plates

19. Vehicles which have a pilot or escort

20. Vehicles of SPG protectees

21. Embassy Vehicles bearing CD numbers

22. Compressed Natural Gas-driven vehicles (these vehicles should prominently display a sticker saying "CNG Vehicle" on the front windscreen — issued by M/s lndraprastha Gas Ltd), electric vehicles, hybrid vehicles

23. Vehicles being used for medical emergencies

24. Women-only vehicles — including children of age upto 12 years travelling with them

25. Vehicles driven/occupied by handicapped persons.