As per early counting of the ballots, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is the single largest party and likely to form government in the national capital Delhi under the leadership of Dr Harsh Vardhan, who will dethrone three-time Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit.

According to NDTV report, the BJP has won 33 seats out of the total of 70. "My day started off in a routine way, nothing special today. We will get a good win in Delhi, I have always said that BJP will get clear majority to form the govt in Delhi," Dr Vardhan told ANI.

The BJP had declared victory in Delhi, early on Sunday, by putting out a poster outside their office with a message that said, "We thank you (voters) for choosing our party."

A close second and the party which amassed a major chunk of vote share from the ruling-Congress is Arvind Kejriwal-led Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) with a projected number of 24 Vidhan Sabha seats.

Aam Aadmi Party
Aam Aadmi Party

The first assembly seat victory during the counting of the votes was also declared for AAP from Narela constituency in West Delhi.

AAP's Twitter handle announced that Kejriwal was leading with 10,000 votes in his New Delhi constituency as against CM Sheila Dikshit, who won the seat from that constituency in 2003 and 2008.

AAP leaders Shazia Ilmi and Manish Sisodia are also leading in their respective constituencies. "Manish Sisodia leads by 5747 votes from Patparganj against BJP's Nakul Bhardwaj."

Kejriwal had announced that BJP had been contacting AAP leaders since Saturday night to change their political stance.

On the question of a hung assembly, Kejriwal dismissed rumours of forming the government with BJP. "We will not join anyone, " Kejriwal said.

On the party's thumping entry into the Delhi Assembly, party leader Yogendra Yadav said, "We are not regional party for Delhi. No matter, what the results, we will take the party forward in other states."

Excited AAP supporters were clustered outside the party headquarters while the constituency results were being announced and shouted slogans such as 'Jhaadu aake sabko saaf karo' and 'Aam Aadmi ki jai'.

The Congress has been worst hit by this year's assembly polls with the early counting of votes suggesting only 7 seats for the ruling party.

"People of Delhi have taken a decision which we respect. We thank people of Delhi for having supported the Congress for 15 years. I would also like to thank the media for all their support. Analysis will be done later of what went right, what went wrong," Dikshit said in a press conference.

Dikshit sent her resignation as the Delhi CM around 11.30 am on Sunday after the early counting of votes.