Gianluca Zambrotta
Delhi Dynamos newly-appointed coach Gianluca Zambrotta (extreme right) has made some good signings already for his side.IANS

Delhi Dynamos have lived up to their name of attracting big names like every other Indian Super League season. Italy legend Alessandro del Piero was there in the first season of the football competition followed by Brazil legend Roberto Carlos in the next. Ahead of ISL 2016, they have now roped in Gianluca Zambrotta, yet another Italy football veteran.

The Delhi side have never won the coveted title, but this time, like all the other teams, they too will be giving a fight to gain supremacy. Delhi Dynamos lost John Arne Riise to Chennaiyin FC this time around, but they made sure to retain another of their star players, Florent Malouda, for ISL 2016.

The franchisee, owned by the Delhi-based DEN Networks, also recently announced the formation of the Delhi Dynamos Youth League, in partnership with the Delhi Youth League, one of the oldest football leagues in the country.

"It has been a satisfying outing for us, and I am happy that the team is gelling in well and the communication on and off the field is strong," said head coach Gianluca Zambrotta, a former World Cup winner, on Delhi Dynamos' pre-season.

"I am glad that we are set to begin our season back home in the ISL on a high. Like I have said before, the only goal for Delhi Dynamos this season would be to bring home the winner's trophy," he added.

Delhi Dynamos face defending Chennaiyin FC in their opening game of ISL 2016 on October 6.

Pre-season information

Zambrotta's men have had a successful three-week long pre-season in England and Sweden this time around. They became the first ISL team in the competition's history to play against a Premier League outfit when they took on West Brom at the Hawthorns earlier this month. Here are their pre-season results:

Delhi Dynamos 2-1 Skene

Delhi Dynamos 0-1 West Brom

Delhi Dynamos 2-2 BK Hacken

Delhi Dynamos 3-2 Assyriska BK

List of foreign players

Florent Malouda (marquee), Samir Nabi, Badara Badji, Ibrahima Niasse, Richard Gadze, Emerson Gomes, Ruben Gonzalez, Simone Barone, Marcos Tebar, David Addy, Marcelo Leite and Bruno Pelissari.