Kirk Edwards West Indies
Kirk Edwards got a recall to the West Indies side that will tour India in a two-Test series in NovemberWICB

Kirk Edwards was recalled to the West Indies Test side which will tour India for a two-Test series next month.

Darren Sammy was named the captain, with the impromptu series pencilled in by the BCCI to celebrate Sachin Tendulkar's 200th Test.

The West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) announced a 15-man squad for the two-Test series which begins on November 6. The second Test is slated to start from November 14.

Edwards was the name that stood out in the 15-man squad that WICB named, with the batsman forcing himself into the side after some good scores for West Indies A, who are currently touring India.

The BCCI have not yet announced the venues for the Tests, with a one-day series also to follow, but the likely venues for the five-day matches are the Eden Gardens in Kolkata and the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai.

The West Indies series is a controversial one, with the BCCI deciding to ignore the tour to South Africa in favour of the home series. The West Indies tour has seriously hampered South Africa's chances of holding a full-fledged series with India, with a resolution still to be made.

BCCI have been irked by the appointment of Haroon Lorgat, a man that president N. Srinivasan does not see eye-to-eye with, as the South African Cricket Board's chief executive, while also not taking kindly to the CSA naming the itinerary for the tour without consulting the BCCI.

"Things are going (on) since long. Certain things have to be put in right perspective," BCCI secretary Sanjay Patel said. "Let me inform you that BCCI in normal circumstances would have done anything (for the SA tour to proceed). But the protocol of finalising any series is joint declaration. But that declaration was originally done without the BCCI's approval. So we are waiting."

What the BCCI are waiting for was not specified by Patel, as the South Africa tour, part of ICC's Future Tours Programme (FTP), now looks in serious jeopardy.

West Indies squad: Darren Sammy (capt), Tino Best, Darren Bravo, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Sheldon Cottrell, Narsingh Deonarine, Kirk Edwards, Chris Gayle, Veersammy Permaul, Kieron Powell, Denesh Ramdin, Kemar Roach, Marlon Samuels, Shane Shillingford, Chadwick Walton.