Sunrisers Hyderabad
Sunrisers Hyderabad players celebrate the wicket of Rajasthan Royals skipper Rahul Dravid in their IPL 2013 gameShaun Roy/IPL/SPORTZPICS

Sunrisers Hyderabad will take on Kandurata Maroons in the second match of the Champions League T20 2013 (CLT20) qualifiers on the opening day (Tuesday) at PCA Stadium, Mohali.

The second qualifier match will begin at 08:00 pm IST on Tuesday and it will be telecast live on Star Sports, Star Cricket and Star Cricket HD channels.


Both the teams are making debut in the CLT20. Interestingly, Shikhar Dhawan will lead Sunrisers Hyderabad, while Kumar Sangakkara who captained Sunrisers Hyderabad in the IPL will lead Kandurata Maroons.

Sunrisers Hyderabad qualified for the CLT20 qualifiers after finishing fourth in the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2013. They lost to Rajasthan Royals in the eliminator of the IPL, thus failing to make it to the main draw.

Kandurata Maroons found a berth in the CLT20 qualifiers after beating Basnahira Greens in the Sri Lanka Cricket Super 4s Twenty20 final. They will be now looking forward to find a place in the group stage.

Team News:

Sunrisers Hyderabad: Shikhar Dhawan, who has been in brilliant form of late, will lead the team, and his performance will be crutial. The team also has Parthiv Patel, Cameron White, JP Duminy and Thisara Perera in the side.

The strength of the team in the latest season of IPL was their bowling department. So, Dale Steyn, Ishant Sharma and Amit Mishra will be expected to take wickets like they did in the IPL.

Kandurata Maroons: They have many players with international exposure. All eyes will be on Kumar Sangakkara as he takes on his IPL team. Upul Tharanga and Thilina Kandamby need to give a good start and help the middle order add some quick runs on the board.

On the bowling front, they will expect Nuwan Kulasekara and Ajantha Mendis to use their experience and take early wickets.


Sunrisers Hyderabad are the favourites to win.


Sunrisers Hyderabad: Shikhar Dhawan (captain), Parthiv Patel, Cameron White, JP Duminy, Dale Steyn, Biplap Samantray, Thisara Perera, Karan Sharma, Hanuma Vihari, Ashish Reddy, Amit Mishra, Ishant Sharma, Anand Rajan

Kandurata Maroons: Lahiru Thirimanne (captain), Nuwan Kulasekara, Upul Tharanga, Thilina Kandamby, Kumar Sangakkara, Shehan Jayasuriya, Chamara Silva, Milinda Siriwardana, Dilhara Lokuhettige, Dhammika Prasad, Ajantha Mendis, Kaushal Lokuarachchi, Lahiru Jayaratne, Dhananjaya de Silva, Suraj Randiv