Stanislas Wawrinka
Stanislas Wawrinka in action during the Mubadala World Tennis Championship in Abu Dhabi, December 26. Reuters

Stanislas Wawrinka will start the overwhelming favourite as the Aircel Chennai Open 2014 kicks into gear starting on Monday.

Where to Watch Live

The first day is set for a 5 pm IST start with live coverage on Star Sports 2 and Star Sports HD2 in India. Day one of the tournament can be live streamed online HERE.

Wawrinka, the world number eight, has been expectedly seeded number one, and the Swiss, coming off the best season of his career, will target further improvement starting with the Chennai Open title.

"I feel good to be where I am," Wawrinka said in a release given out by the Chennai Open organisers. "[The] 2013 [season] was definitely an outstanding year for me. It showed me how close I am to the top guys and that I have my chances against them.

"I'm confident going into 2014. Top players are extremely tough to beat and you need to play your best tennis. However, if you work hard and keep fighting everything is possible."

The other big names to look out for will be former winner Mikhail Youzhny, with the Russian veteran renewing his love for the Chennai Open for the first time since 2007, when he beat Rafael Nadal in the final to clinch the title.

Italian Fabio Fognini is seeded behind world number 15 Youzhny, at three, with Benoit Paire, Vasek Pospisil and Marcel Granollers following them.

Pospisil, after a breakout year in 2013, will be the one to keep a close eye with the Canadian capable of easily breaking through and going all the way in the tournament. Pospisil opens his campaign on Monday against Kyle Edmund of Great Britain.

India's hopes will rest on Somdev Devvarman, scheduled to play a qualifier, and Yuki Bhambri, who will open his tournament against Spaniard Pablo Carreno Busta.

However, all eyes on Monday will be on India's second wild card Jeevan Nedunchezhiyan, who takes on Jiri Vesely of the Czech Republic in the opening round.

Schedule for Monday (5 pm IST start): Centre Court: Pablo Carreno Busta (ESP)/ Albert Ramos (ESP) vs Karen Khachanov (Rus)/Saketh Myneni (Ind).

Jeevan Nedunchezhiyan (Ind) vs Jiri Vesely (Cze).

Kyle Edmund (GBR) vs 5-Vasek Pospisil (Can).

Court 1: Yen-Hsun Lu (Tpe) vs Tim Smyczek (USA).

Dudi Sela (Isr) vs Lukas Lacko (Svk).

Qualifying singles (2 pm IST start): Court 1: Norbert Gombos (Svk) vs Ramkumar Ramanathan (Ind).

Alexander Kudryavtsev (Rus) vs Fredrik Nielsen (Den).

Court 2: Henri Laaksonen (Sui) vs Ilya Marchenko (Ukr). 

Philipp Oswald (Aut) vs Radu Albot (Mda).