ChelseaChelsea's offical Facebook pag

Football fans around the world will witness a clash of the titans on Friday night as Champions League winners Chelsea will take on Europa League winners Atletico Madrid in the European Super Cup.

The live coverage of the UEFA Champions Super Cup between Chelsea and Atletico Madrid will start at 00:15 IST (Saturday) and it will be played at Stade Louis II in Monaco.

About Chelsea

Chelsea qualified for the 2012 Champions League quarterfinals, losing just one in six matches. They earned the semifinal spot with the much-fancied Barcelona after deafeating Benfica and then sailed to the final on aggregate score of 3-2.

The Champions League final against Bayern Munich was a thriller, with Chelsea winning by a penalty shootout and Didier Drogba scoring the winner.

About Atletico Madrid

Atletico Madrid topped their group in the Europa League. The Spanish team had a terrific performance on their way to the final, beating Lazio, Besiktas, Hannover 96 and Valencia in both legs (home and away).

Atletico Madrid beat Athletic Bilbao 3-0 in the final to lift the Europa League cup.

Player to Watch Out:

Both Chelsea and Atletico Madrid have good quality players who can turn the whole course of a match on their day but it is Fernando Torres who will be the cynosure of all eyes tonight. But why single out Torres?

Well, he is going to play against the team where he started his career. Torres made his debut for Atletico Madrid in 2001 and went on to captain the team.

Interestingly, he will play against the team he once led tonight as Chelsea takes on Atletico Madrid for the UEFA Super Cup title tonight.


No doubt Atletico Madrid is a strong team but going by the form of Chelsea in the English Premier League, it looks like the Blues will claim the title tonight.

Probable Lineups:

Chelsea: Petr Cech, Branislav Ivanovic, Gary Cahill, David Luiz, Ashley Cole, Frank Lampard, Mikel John Obi, Juan Mata, Eden Hazard, Ryan Bertrand, Fernando Torres

Atletico Madrid: Thibaut Courtois, Juan Francisco, Miranda de Souza, Diego Godin, Filipe Luis, Mario Suarez Mata, Gabi, Koke, Arda Turan, Rodriguez, Radamel Falcao