Eden Hazard
Hazard had won the PFA Young Player of the Year award last seasonReuters

Chelsea midfielder Eden Hazard has been named the footballer of the year by the Professional Footballers' Association, while Tottenham Hotspur striker Harry Kane has won the young player of the year award.

Hazard, who won the PFA young player of the year last season, has been in excellent for this season, scoring 13 goals and making eight assists to set the Blues on course for their first English Premier League title since 2009/10.

The 24-year-old beat Tottenham's Kane and Manchester United goalkeeper David De Gea to claim the prestigious accolade that was won by striker Luis Suarez while playing for Liverpool last season.

The Belgian, who could not quite provide the spark for Chelsea during their goalless draw against Arsenal in the Premier League at the Emirates on Sunday, expressed his delight after winning the award that was handed at a ceremony at Grosvenor House in London.

"I'm very happy. One day I want to be the best and what I did this season is play very well, Chelsea played very well," said the midfielder, according to BBC.

"I don't know if I deserve to win but it is good for me. It is better to be voted by the players - they know everything about football.

"Personally I have played a good season, I have been there in the big games and I scored a lot of important goals, this is why I'm better this season."

Kane, on the other hand, was voted the PFA Young Player of the Year following his excellent performances this season.

Despite only becoming a regular for Mauricio Pochettino's side in November, the 21-year-old has still managed to net 20 goals in 30 Premier League games so far this season.

His good form earned him a call up for England, and the young striker also managed to find the net on his international debut during the Three Lions' 2016 Euro qualifying fixture against Lithuania in March.

Kane also expressed his delight after winning the award, saying he is very proud.

"It is amazing. It is a very proud moment for myself and my family - hopefully the first of many to come," said Kane.

"I have got to keep working hard, but to be recognised by your fellow players is something special and it is a night I won't forget. I got the opportunity with the gaffer and I have really enjoyed my season so far - I have taken my chance."

Meanwhile, six Chelsea players - Branislav Ivanovic, John Terry, Gary Cahill, Nemanja Matic, Hazard and Diego Costa – were named in the PFA Premier League Team of the Year along with Southampton left-back Ryan Bertrand, Kane, Liverpool's Philippe Coutinho, Arsenal's Alexis Sanchez and Manchester United goalkeeper David De Gea.

Elsewhere, Chelsea midfielder Ji So-Yun claimed the PFA Women's Player of the Year award, while Arsenal's Leah Williamson, 18, was named the Women's Young Player of the Year.