Nara Chandrababu Naidu is all set to swear-in as the first chief minister of Seemandhra or residual Andhra Pradesh on 8 June, after Telangana is formally carved out of the united AP state on 2 June 2014.

Kalavakuntla Chandrasekhar Rao (KCR) will also take oath as the first chief minister of Telangana on 2 June at 8.15 am, Telangana Rashtra Samiti (TRS) said. Telangana will become the 29th state of India.

KCR, the Telangana chief minister-designate and the president of TRS, which stood in the frontline of the movement to achieve the new state, will enter the State secretariat to assume office at 12.57 pm on the same day.

He will take oath as the CM with a 15-member cabinet, at Raj Bhavan. Rao will hold his first cabinet meeting on 2 June, soon after he takes over as the state's new chief minister. The first file KCR is going to sign on, relates to the payment of ex-gratia to martyrs of Telangana movement, after which he will sign on a file that will confirm the writing-off of farmer loans to the extent of one lakh.

As far as Naidu's swearing-in ceremony is concerned, the venue is yet to be declared officially. However, he is reportedly not interested to take over as the CM of Seemandhra in Hyderabad, though the Centre has declared it as the joint capital of the new states for a period of 10-years. He will hold the swearing-in function in Tirupati or at a place between Vijayawada and Guntur in Seemandhra, say media reports.

Though Naidu will take oath as chief minister of Seemandhra on 8 June, the exact time for the same will be decided by Naidu's astrologer Srinivasa Gargeya.

Naidu-led Telugu Desam Party (TDP), which swept majority seats in the last Lok Sabha and Assembly elections in Seemandhra, is likely to be transformed into a national party from its present status of regional political party at the party's two-day annual meeting "Mahanadu" to be held in Gandipet, Hyderabad on 27 and 28 May.

For TDP, the victory in recent elections to the Assembly in the region of Seemandhra in Andhra Pradesh has brought a new strength and encouragement. TDP was the main opposition party in the last ten years in Andhra Pradesh, where Congress ruling.

After Telangana is carved out from AP, TDP is set to form the first State government in the new AP or the residual state-Seemandhra. It has won 102 seats of the 175-member Assembly and 15 Assembly seats in Telangana with a 14.5 per cent vote share. TDP has considerable presence in the united AP.

Hence, the 32-year-old party now wants to transform into a national party with its presence in Telangana and Seemandhra state. It also has plans to spread into neighbouring states-Tamil Nadu, Karnataka, Andaman and Nicobar islands.