argentina copa
Lionel Messi is named in the 26-man Argentina squad by coach Edgardo Bauza for the World Cup qualifier against BrazilReuters

Argentina superstar Lionel Messi and Brazil superstar Neymar will once again be seen battling against each other when the two nations collide in their 2018 World Cup qualifiers next month in Brazil. The initial squads for both teams were named by their respective football associations on Friday.

The two South American football giants clash in Belo Horizonte on November 10, and rekindle their rivalry. Friendly match or an international competition, any tournament that features a showdown between Brazil and Argentina is something worth watching out for. 

Brazil coach Tite, who side remains atop the CONMEBOL World Cup qualifying table, has left out Chelsea midfielder Oscar from the squad, while Real Madrid's Casemiro is automatically ruled out after he suffered a fracture in his fibula bone. The likes of Neymar, Philippe Coutinho and Fernandinho, however, feature in the list.

Meanwhile, Argentina coach Edgardo Bauza has not included Manchester United defender Marco Rojo in his squad. But hotshots Sergio Aguero, Angel di Maria and Gonzalo Higuain feature in the 26-man list, apart from Messi.

The Barcelona magician featured last for his national team against Uruguay last month, when La Albiceleste won 1-0 owing to Messi's goal. He sat out in the following three games for his side against Venezuela, Peru and Paraguay.

Argentina are currently fifth in the CONMEBOL World Cup qualifying table with 16 points from 10 games, while Brazil have 21 points from 10 games.

Brazil vs Argentina: Squads


Goalkeepers: Alex Muralha (Flamengo), Alisson (Roma), Weverton (Atletico Paranaense).

Defenders: Daniel Alves (Juventus), Fagner (Corinthians), Filipe Luis (Atletico Madrid), Marcelo (Real Madrid), Gil (Shandong Luneng), Marquinhos (PSG), Miranda (Inter Milan), Thiago Silva (PSG), Rodrigo Caio (Sao Paulo).

Midfielders: Casemiro (Real Madrid), Fernandinho (Manchester City), Giuliano (Zenit), Lucas Lima (Santos), Paulinho (Guangzhou Evergrande), Philippe Coutinho (Liverpool), Renato Augusto (Beijing Guoan), Willian (Chelsea).

Forwards: Douglas Costa (Bayern Munich), Gabriel Jesus (Palmeiras), Neymar (Barcelona), Roberto Firmino (Liverpool).


Goalkeepers: Nahuel Guzman, (Tigres), Sergio Romero (Manchester United), Geronimo Rulli, (Real Sociedad).

Defenders: Martin Demichelis (Espanyol), Mateso Musacchio (Villarreal), Nicolas Otamendi (Manchester City), Ramiro Funes Mori (Everton), Gabriel Mercado, (Sevilla), Facundo Roncaglia (Celta de Vigo), Emanuel Mas (San Lorenzo), Pablo Zabaleta, (Manchester City).

Midfielders: Javier Mascherano (Barcelona), Guido Pizarro (Tigres), Lucas Biglia (Lazio), Ever Banega (Inter Milan), Enzo Perez (Valencia), Nicolas Gaitan ( Atlético Madrid), Angel Di Maria (PSG), Julio Buffarini (Sao Paulo), Marcos Acuna (Racing Club).

Forwards: Angel Correa (Atletico Madrid), Lionel Messi (Barcelona), Gonzalo Higuaín (Juventus), Paulo Dybala (Juventus), Sergio Agüero (Manchester City), Lucas Pratto (Atletico Mineiro).