A boy waves a flag of India's ruling Bharatiya Janata Party. [Representational Image]Reuters

Manohar Lal Khattar was selected as the new Chief Minister of India on Tuesday.

Khattar, 60, former Rashtriya Swayamsewak Sangh (RSS) 'Pracharak', was chosen by newly elected legislators of the Bharatiya Janata Party as their leader at a meeting in Chandigarh. He is a first-time BJP legislator from Karnal assembly constituency.

He promised to deliver a transparent governance in the state while working for the welfare of the citizens.

"My government will be transparent and there will be no discrimination with any area. I can assure you that we will work for the welfare of the people of Haryana," Zee News quoted Khattar as saying.

The swearing-in of the new ministers is likely to take place on 26 October. The ceremony could be held at a sports stadium in Panchkula, 15 km from Chandigarh, instead of the Haryana Raj Bhavan.

In the 15 October elections to the Haryana State Assembly, the BJP emerged the absolute winner for the first time.

Union Minister Venkaiah Naidu and senior BJP leader Dinesh Sharma were sent by the BJP's parliamentary board as observers for the meeting of its Haryana legislators that chose Khattar as their leader.

Khattar will be the first non-Jat Chief Minister of Haryana in 18 years. For the 60-year-old, this will be his first attempt at handling administration ever since he moved out of RSS to join BJP in 1964.