Bihar welcomed a new cabinet on Friday as Nitish Kumar took oath as the chief minister along with 28 other ministers from the Grand Alliance.

RJD leader Lalu Prasad Yadav's younger son Tejaswi Yadav  was sworn in as the deputy chief minister after debuting in the Bihar elections. His older son Tej Yadav was also given a cabinet berth. 

Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal and West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee are among those attending Nitish Kumar's swearing-in ceremony.

This is Nitish Kumar's third term as the Bihar chief minister. He will also lead the first JD (U)-RJD-Congress coalition government in the state. 


2.17 pm IST: RJD's Abdul Bari Siddiqui has been sworn in as a cabinet minister. 

2.11 pm IST: Tej Pratap Yadav, Lalu Prasad's older son, also takes oath as minister in Nitish Kumar's cabinet. He misread a word and was asked to repeat the oath. 

2.06 pm IST: Tejaswi Yadav, the younger son of RJD leader Lalu Prasad Yadav has been sworn in as the deputy chief minister of Bihar. 

2.03 pm IST: Nitish Kumar takes the oath as the Bihar chief minister.

2.00 pm IST: West Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee at Gandhi Maidan. 

1.51 pm IST: BJP leader Sushil Kumar Modi is among the few representatives of the Bharatiya Janata Party at the swearing-in function. 

1.40 pm IST: Former Delhi CM Sheila Dikshit at Gandhi Maidan. 

1.34 pm IST: Former rivals Nitish Kumar and Lalu Prasad Yadav embrace ahead of the oath-taking. 

1.30 pm IST: Prashant Kishor, who managed Nitish Kumar's campaign for the Bihar polls, is also among the attendees. 


1.25 pm: Nitish Kumar arrives for his swearing-in at Gandhi Maidan. 

1.06 pm IST: Nitish Kumar took to Twitter to thank those attending the oath-taking ceremony. 


1.04 pm IST:  Lalu Prasad Yadav's family has arrived at Gandhi Maidan. 


12.20 pm IST: A Delhi-Patna flight with Bihar Congress MLAs on board has been diverted to Ranchi due to fog, ANI reported.

MLA Abdul Mastan, who is to take oath, is also on board.

12: 15 pm IST: The swearing-in ceremony will begin at 2 pm on Friday at the Patna Gandhi Maidan and will see politicians from across parties and states in attendance, though the Bharatiya Janata Party is likely to be under-represented following its defeat in the assembly polls.