The five-phase Bihar Assembly elections 2015 began on 12 October. The polling concludes on 5 November, while the counting of votes will take place on 8 November.

The first phase of the Bihar polls recorded 57% voter turnout from 1.35 crore voters in 49 constituencies, while the second phase recorded 55% turnout from 86.1 lakh voters in 32 seats.

In the third phase, which will take place on 28 October, polling will be held for 50 seats in central-western Bihar out of a total of 243 constituencies.

Interesting facts

Largest constituency - Digha
Smallest constituency - Amnour
Constituency with maximum number of candidates - Kumhrar
Constituency with minimum number of candidates - Agiaon

Third Phase Polling in Figures

Number of seats 50
Total number of voters 1.45 crore (1,45,85,177)
Male voters 78.5 lakh (78,48,207)
Female voters 67 lakh (67,01,274)
Third Gender voters 581
Service voters 35,115
Polling Stations 14,170
Candidates in Fray 808
Women Candidates 71

Party-wise candidates

Despite little influence in Bihar, the highest number of candidates in the third phase has been fielded by Bahujan Samaj Party, which is contesting from 47 seats.

Next comes the Bharatiya Janata Party with 34 seats, followed by the Rashtriya Janata Dal (25), the Communist Party of India (19) and Janata Dal United (18). Others in the fray include the Lok Janshakti Party with 10 seats besides the Communist Party of India (Marxist) and the Congress with seven seats each.

Bihar polls 2010 outcome

The JDU had won the largest number of seats in the 2010 election among the seats going to polls in the third phase. The ruling party won 23 of the 50 seats, followed by the BJP (20) and RJD (7).