Fourteen games the Sydney Thunder have gone without a win, and come Friday Michael Hussey and co will be hoping it is 15th time lucky when they take on the Adelaide Strikers in the Big Bash League at the ANZ Stadium.

Where to Watch Live

The match is scheduled for a 2.10 pm IST start with live coverage on Star Sports 2 and Star Sports HD1 in India. The match can be live streamed online in the US HERE, while UK viewers can catch the action via live streaming HERE.

The Thunder looked on course for a victory in their first BBL match of the season, only for the Sydney Sixers to ease to the 167-run target with ten balls to spare and six wickets in hand in the Sydney Smash at the SCG.

"We've got to get smarter about the way we finish things off," captain Hussey said after the game. "We've got a great bunch of blokes, we've worked extremely hard behind the scenes, but now it's time to put all that hard work on the field.

"We're going to be very competitive. I don't want to put the be-all and end-all on winning one game, but we've got to make sure that we play a very competitive brand of T20 cricket that is going to be successful in the longer term rather than just for this particular match."

The Strikers, on the other hand, will want to complete a match for the first time this season, after seeing their opening clash with the Hurricanes called off, with the former in a brilliant position on 87 for one from six overs.

"Even though we didn't get a result we did send that message out to the tournament that we're a strong force and I think we're going to see a lot more to come in the next few weeks," England batsman Alex Hales, who smashed 49 runs off 19 balls in that match, told StrikersTV.

"We've got a very strong bowling unit as well so hopefully it all comes together against the Thunder."

Sydney Thunder will be without two of their most influential batsmen in David Warner and Usman Khawaja. Warner, who scored 50 from just 31 balls in the loss to the Sixers, is currently playing the fourth Ashes Test for Australia against England.

"It's not easy to replace someone like Davey Warner in this form of the game," Hussey said. "That's certainly not ideal for us ... (but) I still think we've got the ability to cover it."

Khawaja has been ruled out of the match with a strained hamstring, with Blake Dean also missing. Cameron Borgas, Daniel Hughes and Scott Coyte have been drafted in as replacements.

Teams: Sydney Thunder: Mike Hussey (capt), Ryan Carters, Scott Coyte, Luke Feldman, Jason Floros, Kurtis Patterson, Cameron Borgas, Eoin Morgan, Dirk Nannes, Gurinder Sandhu, Carl Sandri, Daniel Hughes, Chris Woakes.

Adelaide Strikers: Johan Botha (capt), Jono Dean, Callum Ferguson, Alex Hales, Phil Hughes, Michael Klinger, Tim Ludeman, Michael Neser, Ben Oakley, Nathan Reardon, Kane Richardson, Shaun Tait, Adam Zampa.