After a failed court battle by the Siddaramaiah-led Congress government to postpone the Bruhat Bengaluru Mahanagara Palike (BBMP) elections on the grounds of trifurcating the civic body, Bengalureans are finally set to elect their corporators on Saturday, 22 August.

[Vote Counting Begins Tuesday: Check the Results of BBMP Council Elections 2015 LIVE]

Polls will be held in 197 wards out of 198 as election is not required in Hongasandra ward, where BJP's Bharati Ramachandra was elected unopposed last week after the election panel dismissed the nomination of Congress candidate K Maheshwari over submission of false caste certificate.

Polling will be held at 6,463 booths spread over 197 wards across the city from 7am to 5pm on 22 August and re-polling, if needed, will be conducted on 24 August. Counting will be done on 25 August.

Around 7.4 million (73,88,526) voters are registered to exercise franchise for electing their civic representatives. A total of 9,310 election voting machines and 11,635 ballot units are being used in the polls.

Security in the city were beefed up as the police have identified 1,700 polling booths as highly sensitive and 1,900 as sensitive.

About 13,000 police personnel have been deployed in the city from other districts across the state for election duty, according to Police Commissioner NS Megharik.

BBMP Elections Live Blog:

7pm: Bengaluru records 44% turnout, DNA reported.

5.59 pm (IST): Till 4 pm, the voter turnout across Bengaluru was 38%.

3pm: 25.6% voter turnout till 3pm.

1:35pm: About 21% (15.5 lakh) citizens have cast their vote till 1:30pm.

1:22pm: Four people were reportedly arrested for distributing cash to voters at Jeevanbhima Nagar. An amount of Rs. 2.01 lakh was seized, The Hindu reported.

12:30pm: Low voter turnout till 12:30pm. 

Twitterati have been urging Bengulreans to cast their vote because of low voter turnout from morning.

12pm: BJP workers have allegedly distributed saffron T-Shirts at ward 125 Govindrajnagar in Marenahalli, Jayanagar, in a bid to woo voters. The area comes under the constituency of BJP MP Ananth Kumar.

11:45am: 10.83% voter turnout in Bengaluru Central, 12.22% in Bengaluru South, 10.27% in Bengaluru North, 8.67% in Bengaluru Rural.

11:30am: Yelahanka New Town police have arrested BJP worker Manjunath and two Congress workers Vadaraj and Devaraj after they began a fight in Attur ward.

11:15am: Pothole-ridden roads are one of the most discussed civic issues in Bengaluru.

A series of art installations of life-size reptiles made appearance on Bengaluru streets to bring awareness about the waterlogged roads that add to the traffic snarls in the city and even cause serious health-care problems to residents.

11:10am: Even senior citizens woke up early in the morning to vote for a better Bangalore.

11am: BJP protests in Bilekahalli as Congress workers allegedly stopped a citizen from voting. Cops on the spot.

The voter had apparently shifted his house to a new location.

10am: In ward number 110, a youth, identified as Fiaz, dies after a tree branch falls on his head while he was on his way to cast vote. His body has reportedly been taken to Bowring Hospital in Shivajinagar.

9:50am: Former Prime Minister HD Deve Gowda protests at Jeevanbheema Nagar police station, alleging police harassment of JD(S) candidate Ayesha Begum, as per reports.

9:30am: 4% voter turnout till 9:30am.

9am: Congress leader BK Hariprasad casts his vote.

8am: Union Minister M Venkaiah Naidu casts his vote.

7am: Voting started in Bengaluru at 7am.