Battlefield 4
Battlefield 4 was released in October 2013.Facebook

The last of the downloadable content (DLC) from developer DICE for its FPS title, Battlefield 4, is the newly detailed Final Stand DLC.

The new DLC is all set to transport players into the Arctic and introduces some new weapons and vehicles.

Vincent Vukovic of DICE said in a post that this DLC was to better the player experience in the game.

"With Final Stand, we knew from the start that we wanted to evolve the Battlefield experience and offer weapons and vehicles that behave differently than anything else on the battlefield," said Vukovic.

The DLC will introduce the gamers to four new maps and all the maps are "unique and distinct." Players can expect the maps to be set in the arctic winter landscape with military installations. The battles will be intense and will focus on infantry combat.

The four maps that will be part of the Battlefield 4 Final Stand DLC are:

  • Operation Whiteout
  • Hammerhead
  • Giants of Karelia
  • Hangar 21

All the four maps will be based around the military sites in Arctic Russia, where scientists are researching most of the weapons. Players can expect the weapons and vehicles to be a bit futuristic.

The Final Stand DLC will have some new weapons and vehicles, which are secret prototype like the ones below:

  • Battle pick-up rail gun that can fire a single round of kinetic energy.
  • Hover tank prototype

It also said that the DLC will be having more surprises and these will be released at a later date.

Meanwhile, it was also announced that players who have been part of the Community Test Environment (CTE) would have already received the copy of the Final Stand maps so that they can test the pre-release version of the DLC.

It also said that CTE has been a "tremendous asset" to the development team and the feedback that it received was "amazing." It added that per day, DICE will be releasing only one map and it will be starting only from 9 September. There will be a limit to the number of player slots and servers and this will mean everyone may not be able to play the game.

"This is the first time we have ever done something like this at this early stage – and we hope it will mean a more stable and higher quality release in the end!" the post added.