Bangaloe Metro Route Map
Bangalore Metro Route MapScreenshot/BMRL

Karnataka Chief Minister Siddaramaiah flagged off the 3B extension of Phase I of Namma Metro between Nagasandra (near Bangalore International Exhibition Centre) and Peenya Industrial Area on Friday, 1 May.

The four new stations in the route are Peenya Industry, Jalahalli Cross, Darasarahalli and Nagasandra.

Now, commuters can travel 10.5 km from Mantri Square to Nagasandra in 25 minutes.

During the inaugural function, the CM mentioned that the entire 42.5 km metro network will be completed by March 2016. The earlier deadline was December 2015.

"It is only because of the technical difficulties in the underground section that work is delayed. I have been informed by the BMRCL that 94 percent of the stretch is completed but the entire 42.3 km will be finished by December or March 2016," Siddaramiah said, according to The Indian Express.

Union Urban Development Minister Venkaiah Naidu was also present at the event.

Meanwhile, Karnataka Mahiti Hakku Okkoota members held a protest against Bangalore Metro Rail Corporation Limited (BMRCL) demanding basic facilities, including drinking water and toilets, at metro stations. Siddaramaiah asked BMRCL to address the issue.