Tamil Nadu Chief Minister and AIADMK supremo J Jayalalithaa.IANS

The All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) general secretary and Tamil Nadu Chief Minister J Jayalalithaa announced Monday the list of candidates for Tamil Nadu, Puducherry and Kerala Assembly elections, according to Indo-Asian News Service (IANS).

Jayalalithaa will contest from Radhakrishnan Nagar constituency in Chennai, IANS reported. AIADMK will contest elections in 227 constituencies of the 234-seat Tamil Nadu Assembly. Its allies will contest from seven seats.

Tamil Nadu Finance Minister O Panneerselvam will contest from Bodinayakkanur constituency while Electricity Minister Natham R Viswanathan's name has been finalised for Athur, the Hindu reported.

Jayalalithaa has given tickets to some new people too, including former DMDK MLAs Panruti S Ramachandran Mafoi K Pandiarajan, DMK MLA Parithi Ilamvazhuthi and PMK legislator M Kalaiarasu, while excluding some of the sitting legislators.

In Puducherry and Kerala, it will contest from 30 and seven seats, respectively. Elections to the Legislative Assemblies of the three states will be held May 16. Counting will start May 19 and all the election process will be completed before May 21, according to the Election Commission of India.

Meanwhile, elections are underway in two states, Assam and West Bengal. Assam Assembly elections are being held in two phases, the first phase was April 4 and the second April 11. In West Bengal, the elections are being conducted in six phases, with the first having two parts.

Check the list of the 227 AIADMK candidates contesting in the Tamil Nadu Assembly elections here.