pr sreejesh
PR Sreejesh will be leading the team again for the Asian Champions Trophy 2016IANS

PR Sreejesh, who was appointed the skipper of the India hockey team for the Rio 2016 Olympics, has once again been named the captain of the side for the Asian Champions Trophy, to be held in Kuantan, Malaysia, from October 20, 2016. 

Manpreet Singh has been named as the vice captain of the team.

Hockey India, on Thursday, announced the 18-member squad on Thursday, which features the likes of Sardar, SV Sunil and Rupinder Pal Singh. However, the major absentees from the team remain India's expert drag-flicker VR Raghunath as well as forwards Akashdeep Singh and Ramandeep Singh, who have been rested.

India, one of the favourites in the tournament, will be plying their trade in the 4th Asian Hockey Champions Trophy, alongside Pakistan, South Korea, Japan, China and Malaysia.

"We may be the top ranked team in Asia right now but no team can be taken lightly," Sreejesh said to the Hockey India website. "The defending Champions (Pakistan) are known to spring a surprise and Korea too will be a team to watch out for as they have been playing good quality hockey lately," the goalkeeper added.

Full India hockey team squad for Asian Champions Trophy 2016

Goalkeepers: PR Sreejesh (Captain), Akash Chikte.

Defenders: Rupinder Pal Singh (Vice Captain), Pardeep Mor, Jasjit Singh Kular, Birendra Lakra, Kothajit Singh, Surender Kumar.

Midfielders: Chinglensana Singh Kangujam, Akashdeep Singh, Sardar Singh, SK Uthappa, Devindar Walmiki.

Forwards: Talwinder Singh, Ramandeep Singh, Lalit Kumar Upadhyay, Nikkin Thimmaiah, Affan Yousuf.