The official teaser of Vijay Sethupathy-Arya-Shaam's upcoming film "Purampokku" has been released on Sony Music India's YouTube channel. (Check below for "Purampokku" teaser)

Directed by S. P. Jananathan, "Purampokku" is touted to be a political-action thriller film with Arya and Vijay Sethupathy in lead roles. The film also has Shaam and Karthika of "Ko" fame in pivotal roles. Earlier, the director who has worked with Jayarm Ravi in "Peranmai" and Jiiva in "E" had cast both the actors in the lead roles. But they were later replaced with a fresh cast.

"I've worked with both Ravi and Jiiva, and thought I would feel comfortable working with them again. But later, we decided to go with a fresh cast. Both Arya and Vijay Sethupathi fit the bill perfectly, and they will be seen in a completely different avatar," Jananathan told The Times of India.

Arya appears as Balasubramanian and is reportedly playing the role of a social activist. Shaam as T.Macaulay will don the role of a cop and Vijay Sethupathy as Yamalingam will be seen as a railway khalasi. The character names of these actors are said to be inspired from real life people.

The film has been extensively shot in places like Himachal Pradesh, Rajasthan and Chennai, reported Sify. The shooting of "Purampokku" is nearing completion and is likely to be wrapped up soon. A part of the last leg of the shooting was shot in a massive prison set in Binny Mills. Once the shooting is completed, post-production work will commence.

The film is being produced by UTV Motion Pictures and it will be releasing in January 2015. "#Purampokku will be our next release in Jan'15. The film's shoot is nearing completion after shooting a long schedule in the jail set..," Dhananjayan Govind of UTV Motion Pictures tweeted.

"#Purampokku will be a major solo release, whichever day it releases. Will not pitch against any major film in Jan'15 & will decide that time," he said.

The film's audio release will be taking place in a grand manner in the third week of November 2014. The film's music is composed by newcomer Varshan.