Arrangements have picked up for the swearing-in ceremony of Nara Chandrababu Naidu as the Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh/Seemandhra near Guntur. Naidu, the CM-designate, is set to take oath on 8 June.

Both bureaucrats and leaders of Telugu Desam Party (TDP) supervised the ongoing arrangements at the venue on Saturday. High officials from administration and police department of the AP government visited the venue from Hyderabad and asked the district authorities to complete the arrangements for the swearing-in ceremony in time.

TDP leaders Kodela Shivaprasada Rao, Karnam Balaram, Nannapaneni Rajakumari, Devineni Uma, Pattipati Pulla Rao, Garikapati Rammohan and Rajendraprasad visited the venue, supervised the arrangements and made the required suggestions for the CM's oath-taking ceremony.

IAS officer IYR Krishna Rao and IPS officer JV Ramudu were among the high-rank officials who supervised the CM oath-taking arrangements. Krishna Rao is likely to become the Chief Secretary, and Ramudu the Director General of Police of the residual Andhra Pradesh.

Naidu and Rao should work together: Governor

Andhra Pradesh Governor ESL Narasimhan on Saturday suggested that Chief Ministers in waiting - Naidu and K Chandrasekhar Rao - should work together and discuss the problems being faced by the their respective new states - residual Andhra Pradesh and Telangana.

Narasimhan reminded Naidu and Rao that they were colleagues in the past and had worked together in the Andhra Pradesh government.

The Governor stated that the list of employee allotment to Telangana and AP will be released on Monday. However, the new state governments can take a final decision on the allocation of employees, he stressed. Narasimhan said that both Naidu and Rao have a vision about development of the new states. He described both the CM-designates as hard-working persons.

Narasimhan, who will act as the joint-Governor for both states, pointed out that he will work from Hyderabad as the city will continue to stay as the joint-capital for the two new states for the next 10 years.

According to Narasimhan, President's rule will end in Telangana from the midnight of 1 June, and in residuary Andhra Pradesh from the midnight of 7 June.

Narasimhan would take oath as the Governor of Telangana at 6.15 am on 2 June, and swear-in Rao as Chief Minister at 8.15 am. He stated that an invitation has been sent to AP Chief Minister-designate Naidu to attend Rao's swearing-in as the Telangana CM.