An Arms factory belonging to the Indian Mujahideen (IM) has been unearthed in New Delhi recently, said Jitendra Singh, the Minister of State in the Ministry of Home Affairs, in Lok Sabha on Tuesday.

In November 2011, a special team of the Delhi Police with the help of Central Intelligence Agency, West Bengal Police, Bihar Police and Tamil Nadu Police, have apprehended an IM module consisting of seven members including one Pakistani National.

As per reports, two AK-47 rifles along with 50 cartridges, one 9 mm pistol with fourteen live cartridges, 1.4 kgs of black explosive material, five detonators and fake Indian currency notes worth Rs. 2 lakhs as well as other incriminating material have been recovered, said Singh.

Besides this recovery, a factory manufacturing arms and ammunition being run by this Indian Mujahideen module in Delhi was also discovered. A stockpile of weapon parts, which is fully and half-assembled weapons, explosives and tools have been recovered.

In the Parliament, Singh also announced the names of the 20 States that have constituted State Human Rights Commissions (SHRC) in Lok Sabha. They are Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Gujarat, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu & Kashmir, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Manipur, Odisha, Punjab, Rajasthan, Sikkim, Tamil Nadu, Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal.

Singh also added that eight states have not constituted the State Human Rights Commissions. These are Arunachal Pradesh, Goa, Haryana, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Tripura and Uttarakhand.

The responsibility to ensure adequate manpower and infrastructure for each SHRC lies primarily with the respective State Government.

The Government of India and National Human Rights Commission (NHRC) are keen that each state set up a State Human Rights Commission. The government and NHRC have been requesting all those states, which have not yet constituted their State Commission, to do so at the earliest, said the Minister.