Andhra Pradesh (AP) Governor ESL Narasimhan on 7 May allotted administrative buildings in Hyderabad to the new states - Telangana and the residual Andhra Pradesh or Seemandhra. Narasimhan approved this proposal along with other proposals by different committees.

AP's capital Hyderabad will remain as a joint capital for 10 years to the two new states from 2 June, say media reports.   

Narasimhan has allotted the Lake View Guest House in Hyderabad to be AP Chief Minister's Camp Office and the Jubilee Hall for the AP Legislative Council.

In the State Secretariat, Telangana has been allotted A,B,C and D blocks. The Seemandhra has got H,K and L blocks. The Governor on 6 May (Tuesday), held a high-level meeting with the committee officials at Sudharma block in AP Raj Bhavan.

Committees have been set up to allocate physical assets including buildings to different departments of the two new states. Narasimhan asked the officials at the meeting to monitor progress of the buildings' allotment and upkeep them well to accommodate the new governments, to be elected soon after the ongoing election process on 16 May.

The Governor asked the State Legislative Secretary, S Raja Sadaram to keep ready the buildings to house the legislative assemblies and councils of the new elected state governments, once the ongoing elections are over.

The government has also constituted committees to allot administrative buildings to the new states.

Meanwhile, several eminent personalities in Seemandhra exercised their franchise in the second phase of voting to both Lok Sabha and Assembly elections. Rajahmundry Lok Sabha candidate of TDP and veteran actor Murali Mohan, BJP candidate from Visakhapatnam Kambhampati Haribabu, Union Minister Panabaka Lakshmi, Seemandhra Pradesh Congress Committee president Raghuveera Reddy and former Andhra Pradesh Speaker Nadendla Manohar were among those who utilized their franchise on Wedneday.