mohun bagan, i-league

The past two seasons of the I-League has seen the battle between Mohun Bagan and Bengaluru FC reach the pinnacle of it all, with the title being decided on a dramatic final day.

And now, with defending champions Bengaluru FC out of the title scene this season, the I-League 2017 title is being contested between Mohun Bagan and Aizawl FC. The Indian football sides clash swords on Saturday April 22, with the winner taking the trophy straightaway.


Aizawl FC needs to put forward at least two goals and concede none, to take home the title, while Mohun Bagan need just about a win to get the job done and win their second I-League title in three seasons.

On the account of a draw, other mathematical calculations evolve.

Match schedule

  • Date: April 22
  • Time: 2 pm IST
  • Venue: Rajiv Gandhi Stadium, Mizoram

Where to watch live

TV: Ten 2

Live stream: Sony Liv

Live score: Twitter

So, who is playing and who's not?

For Aizawl FC, everyone is fit, whereas, for Mohun Bagan, the likes of Subhasish Bose, Raynier Fernandes, Pronay Halder remain sidelined.

Confirmed starting XI

Mohun Bagan: Debjit; Pritam, Edu, Anas, Raju Gaikwad; Sehnaj, Katsumi, Sony, Azharuddin; Jeje, Duffy.

Aizawl FC: Albino; Ashutosh, Kingsley, Zohmingliana Ralte, Lalramchullova; Mahmoud Amnah, Jayesh, Brandon V, Laldanmawia Ralte; Alfred Jaryan, Kamo Stephane Bayi.

Quote unquote

All tickets have been sold out almost 5 days back. We're forced to create some space behind the fence to accommodate some thousand fans more, such is the high demand for tickets. Not only that, even a colossal number of away fans are coming to cut our home fans out, let's enjoy the fan-battle during the match. Obviously, it'll be a worthwhile one.

- Robert Royte, Owner & Chairman, Aizawl FC.