Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar has inivted veteran BJP leader L K Advani and BJP Lok Sabha member Shatrughan Sinha to his oath-taking ceremony to be held in Patna on November 20, said an aide on Sunday.

"Advani and Shatrughan Sinha have been invited to the event at Gandhi Maidan. We sent invitations to both of them," said a Janata Dal-United (JD-U) leader close to Nitish Kumar.

Although the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) lost the assembly polls to Nitish Kumar's Grand Alliance by a great margin, Shatrughan Sinha has repeatedly praised the Bihar chief minister publicly. Advani is also said to have a soft corner for Nitish.

But no invitation has been sent to any other BJP leader, including Prime Minister Narendra Modi and party president Amit Shah.

The event is expected to see a galaxy of top political leaders, including Congress president Sonia Gandhi and vice-president Rahul Gandhi, Chief Ministers Arvind Kejriwal of Delhi, Mamata Banerjee of West Bengal, Naveen Patnaik of Odisha and Akhilesh Yadav of Uttar Pradesh.

JD-U leaders say the event -- where the star attraction will be RJD chief Lalu Prasad -- will mark a new beginning of Opposition unity in the country.

Former prime minister H D Deve Gowda is also likely to attend the ceremony, besides former Jharkhand chief ministers Babulal Marandi and Hemant Soren and INLD leader Abhay Chautala.

Lalu Prasad and JD-U president Sharad Yadav will be the main guests.

According to JD-U leaders, Nitish Kumar will take oath as chief minister along with a 36-member council of ministers on November 20.

The RJD emerged the single largest party in the 243-seat house with 80 Assembly seats, followed by the JD-U (71) and the Congress (27 seats).

There will be 16 ministers from the RJD, 15 from the JD-U and five from the Congress in the new government.