Vijay Awards
Vijay AwardsTwitter/ Vijay Television

The Tamil film industry is getting ready for one of the biggest film awards of the year, the Annual Vijay Awards. The function will take place on 25 April 2015 in Chennai. 

With each year, the awards function is getting bigger and bigger. This year will see some big names such as Prabhu Deva, Tamannaah, Pooja Kumar, Hip Hop Tamizha, Shruthi Haasan and Laksmi Menon performing live on stage.

The Annual Vijay Awards is one of the most sought-after in Tamil cinema and will honour Tamil cinema celebs and technicians for their contributions to the industry in 2014.

Last year saw the release of Tamil 205 movies. The jury of the 9th Annual Vijay Awards will choose the best from 150 nominations for thirty different categories.

The jury of this year's Vijay Awards ceremony comprises filmmaker R Balki, actor and filmmaker K Bhagyaraj, actor and filmmaker Yuhi Sethu, filmmaker KV Anand and actress Nadia Moidu.

A separate category of Favourite Awards including Favourite Hero, Favourite Heroine, Favourite Film, Favourite Director and Favourite Song is also given, based on public voting.