Kerala's Nehru Trophy Boat Race (Vallamkali), which marks the beginning of the tourism season in the state, will be held in Alappuzha on Saturday, 8 August.

The much-awaited snake-boat race is held on the second Saturday of August every year in Punnamada Lake.

Live Blog:

5:30 pm: Jawahar Thayamkari wins the 63th Nehru Trophy

Time taken: 4 minute 36 seconds.

2nd prizeMahadevikadkattil Thekkethil

3rd prize: Sri Ganeshan

5: 25 pm: 

Final Participants

Jawahar Thayamkari

St Payas Xth

Sri Ganeshan

Mahadevikadkattil Thekkethil

5:22 pm: Finals to begin soon

5: 21 pm: Chundan Losers' Final -- Chambakulam

5: 13 pm: 2nd Losers' Final Winner -- Illikalam

5: 05 pm: 3rd Losers' Final Winner -- Nadubagam

Where to Watch Nehru Trophy Vallamkali Live Online?

The entire event will be covered by Doordarshan and National Informatics Centre will webcast the event online as well. The live streaming will begin at 11 am and ends at 6 pm.

Watch the Boat Race Online HERE

All You Need to Know about Nehru Trophy Vallamkali

More than 16 teams will participate in the prestigious competition, which will see the presence of people from across the country as well as foreigners.

Indian Vice-President Hamid Ansari and Chinese Ambassador Le Yucheng are also attending the event on Saturday.

[Read more: Complete List of Nehru Trophy winners 1952-2015]