63rd National Award Distribution Ceremony
The President of India, Pranab Mukherjee presented the 63th National Film Awards on May 3, 2016 in New Delhi.President of India/Facebook

The winners of the 63rd National Film Awards are being honoured at a grand function in New Delhi on Tuesday, May 3. The event is being live streamed on the official YouTube channel of Doordarshan.

The Directorate of Film Festivals announced the winners of the National Film Awards during a press meet held in New Delhi on March 23. SS Rajamouli's blocbuster movie "Baahubali – The Beginning" has won the Best Film award, while Bollywood actors Amitabh Bachchan and Kangana Ranaut bagged the Best Actor awards for their performances in "Piku" and "Tanu Weds Manu Returns," respectively.

Live updates

7:50 p.m.: The 63rd National Film Awards distribution ceremony has come to an end.

7:36 p.m.: Indian President Pranab Mukherjee addresses the audience.

7:32 p.m.: Arun Jaitley, Minister of Information and Broadcasting, addresses the award winners and other guests at the event.

7:30 p.m.: President of India presents the Dadasaheb Phalke Award to Manoj Kumar.

7:20 p.m.: SS Rajamouli receives the National Award for the movie "Baahubali - The Beginning" (Best Film) and Sanjay Leela Bhansali wins Best Director award for "Bajirao Mastani."

7:15 p.m.: Amitabh Bachchan has been honoured with the Best Actor award for his performance in "Piku." This is his fourth National Best Actor Award.

Kangana Ranaut receives her third Best Actress Award this year from President Pranab Mukherjee.

10-year-old Gaurav Menon receives the Best Child Artist for his performance in the Malayalam movie "Ben." He has been awarded with Rajat Kamal and Rs 50,000.

7:08 p.m.: Remo D'souza (choreographer), V. Srinivas Mohan (special effect), Kalki Kochlin (special jury), Varun Grover (lyrics), Ilaiyaraaja (Background Score), M Jayachandran (music direction), Preetisheel G Singh and Clover Wootton (make-up artists), Payal Saluja (costume designer) and many others bag the National Awards.

7:02 p.m.: Monali Thakur entertains the audience by singing the award winning song "Moh Moh Ke Dhaage" from the Bollywood movie "Dum Laga Ke Haisha."

6:55 p.m.: Honourable President gives awards to the best regional languages movies of 2015.

6:52 p.m: Malayalam actor Jayasurya receives Special Mention for his performances in the films "Su Su Sudhi Vathmeekam" and "Lukka Chuppi." Ritika Singh and Rinku Rajguru are also honoured with special mention.

6:50 p.m.: Distribution for newly instituted Film Friendly State Award - Deepa Nair and Navneeth Kumar receive representing Kerala and Uttar Pradesh, respectively. 

6:44 p.m.: Ramesh Sippy, the jury chairman of 63rd National Film Awards, speaks about his experience in selecting the winners. 

6:40 p.m.: The Indian Classical vocalist Mahesh Kale, who bagged the 63rd National Film Best Singer (male) Award, performs during the event.

6:20 p.m.: Indian President Pranab Mukherjee hands over Rajat Kamal to the winners of the prestigious National Award under non-feature film category.

6:00 p.m.: All the guests and awardees have arrived at the venue.

Here is the complete winners' list of 63rd National Film Awards:

Best Film: Baahubali – The Beginning

Best Special Effects: Baahubali – The Beginning

Best Director: Sanjay Leela Bhansali – Bajirao Mastani

Best Actress: Kangana Ranaut – Tanu Weds Manu Returns

Best Actor: Amitabh Bachchan – Piku

Best Supporting Actress: Tanvi Azmi – Bajirao Mastani

Best Supporting Actor: Samuthirakani – Visaranai

Best Child Artist: Gaurav Menon – Ben

Best Children's Film: Duronto

Best Popular Film providing wholesome entertainment: Bajrangi Bhaijaan

Best Film on Social Issues - Nirnnayakam

Best Film on Environment Conservation/Preservation: Valiya Chirakulla Pakshikal

Best Editing Award: Lt. TE Kishore – Visaranai

Indira Gandhi Award for Best Debut Film Of A Director: Neeraj Ghaywan – Masaan

Nargis Dutt Award for Best Feature Film On National Integration - Nanak Shah Fakir

Best Music Direction: M Jayachandran – Kaathirunnu Kaathirunnu – Ennu Ninte Moideen

Best Background Score: Ilaiyaraaja – Thaarai Thappattai

Best Female Playback Singer: Monali Thakur – Moh Moh Ke Dhaage – Dum Laga Ke Haisha

Best Singer (Male): Mahesh Kale – Katyar Kaljat Ghusili

Best Makeup: Nanak Shah Fakir team

Best Jury Award: Kalki Koechlin – Margarita, with a Straw

Best Lyricists: Varun Grover – Moh Moh Ke Dhaage – Dum Laga Ke Haisha

Best Choreography: Remo D'Souza – Deewani Mastani – Bajirao Mastani

Best Cinematography -Sudeep Chaterjee – Bajirao Mastani

Best Screenplay Writer (Original): Juhi Chaturvedi – Piku and Himanshu Sharm – Tanu Weds Manu Returns

Best Screenplay Dialogues: Juhi Chaturvedi – Piku and Himanshu Sharma – Tanu Weds Manu Returns

Special Mention: Ritika Singh – Irudhi Suttru (Saala Khadoos)

Special Mention: Jayasurya – Su Su Sudhi Vathmeekam and Lukka Chuppi

Special Mention: Rinku Rajguru – Sairat

Best Film Friendly State Award: Gujarat

Best Film Friendly State Award: Special mention to Uttar Pradesh and Kerala

Best Assamese Film: Kothanodi

Best Bengali Film: Shankhachil

Best Hindi Film: Dum Laga Ke Haisha

Best Kannada Film: Thithi

Best Konkani Film: Enemy

Best Malayalam Film: Pathemari

Best Marathi Film: Ringan

Best Odiya Film: Pahada Ra Luha

Best Tamil Film: Visaaranai

Best Mizo Film: Kima's Lode Beyond The Class

Best Sanskrit Film: Priyamanasam

Best Maithili Film: Mithila Makhaan

Best Telugu Film: Kanche

Best Manipuri Film: Eibusu Yaohanbiyu

Best Wancho Film: The Head Hunter

Best Bodo Film: Dau Huduni Methai

Best Haryanvi Film: Satrangi

Best Khasi Film: Onaatah

Best Non Feature Film: Amdavad Ma Famous

Best Art Cultural Film: A Far Afternoon - A Painted Saga

Best Biographical: Life in a Metaphor

Best Short Fiction Film: Aushad

Best Animation Award: Fisherwoman and Tuktuk

Best Social Film Award: Autodriver