2019 Rugby World Cup, Pool Draw

The 2019 Rugby World Cup pool draw will take place in Kyoto on Wednesday, with the bigwigs of the game finding out if they will end up in the group of death or be let off with a relatively comfortable pool to get out of.

In the last World Cup, England found themselves in the group of death and duly became the first host nation to crash out of the tournament without making it to the knockouts.

This year, England are the second seeds, only behind New Zealand, who, as the defending champions and the best side in the world, are naturally the top seeds.

With a different head coach in Eddie Jones at the helm, there is much expected from England in the next World Cup in Japan, but before that, they will hope to get a kinder draw.

England, being seeded second, cannot play the All Blacks in the group stages, which will be a relief, but they could run into Wales, who beat them in the 2015 World Cup, yet again.

Argentina or Italy could also come into their group, which will then make qualification for the knockout rounds all the more difficult.

"If you want to win the World Cup, you're going to have to play the best teams anyway," England's Billy Vunipola said. "If you do have Argentina, the goal is to try to beat them, and hopefully that means that you'll be more battle-hardened for the knockout stages.

"You shouldn't be [worried] if you prepare as well as you can. Eddie always makes sure that we do. We tend not to worry about other teams."

Of course, every single team out there will be hoping for the best draw possible, even the seemingly impossible to beat All Blacks.

Twelve teams – New Zealand, England, Australia, Ireland, Wales, Scotland, France, South Africa, Italy, Argentina, Georgia and Japan – have qualified for the 2019 World Cup, with eight more sides still to make it to the grandest stage in rugby.

Here are the five bands from which the teams will be drawn. There will be four groups of five.

Band One: New Zealand, England, Australia and Ireland.


Band Two: Scotland, Wales, South Africa and France.


Band Three: Argentina, Japan, Georgia and Italy.


Band Four: Oceania 1, Europe 1, Americas 1 and Africa 1.


Band Five: Oceania 2, Americas 2, Playoff winner (between Oceania 3 and Europe 2) and Repechage winner.

Where and when to watch live

The 2019 RWC pool draw ceremony is set to begin at 5pm local time (1.30pm IST, 9am BST, 8am GMT, 6pm AEDT, 8pm NZT).

India: No live coverage.


Japan: J Sports, NTV, NHK.


New Zealand: TVNZ.


South Africa: SuperSport One.

Live Streaming (across the world): Rugby World Cup website.