The much-awaited 2016 Premier Badminton League (PBL) is set to kick-start the sport's calendar year in India, and we are just a day away from the mega competition, which promises an array of international and Indian shuttlers.

Badminton fans have lot to look forward to in the competition, which is set to take place from 2 to 17 January, as it promises quality action. If stars such as Saina Nehwal get their act going, the competition is going to be even more interesting.

Fierce bidding had taken place in December, where the six participating teams — Delhi Acers, Hyderabad Hunters, Mumbai Rockets, Awadhe Warriors , Bengaluru Topguns and Chennai Smashers — came prepared to sign some top players.

Though some teams did get the players they were looking to snag, not all could sign players of their choice, and opted for some other players to make a decent squad for the 2016 Premier Badminton League.

So, all the teams in the competition are pretty much balanced, with a good mix of foreign and Indian players, which is the perfect recipe for a great contest for the next fortnight or so.

Saina Nehwal, PV Sindhu, Kidambi Srikanth, Lee Chong Wei, Rajiv Ouseph and Tommy Sugiarto are surely going to be the players to watch out for in the competition, as, with their experience in the international stage, they could prove pivotal for their teams in the 2016 Premier Badminton League.

2016 Premier Badminton League complete team squads

Delhi Acers

India players- Ajay Jayaram, Shikha Gautam, Akshay Dewalkar, PC Thulasi and Aparna Balan

Foreign - Rajiv Ouseph, Tommy Sugiarto, ,Koo Kien Keat, Tan Boon Heong and Gabrielle Adcock

Hyderabad Hunters

India players- Siril Verma, Parupalli Kashyap, Jwala Gutta, J Meghana, K Nandagopal and R Satwik Sai Raj

Foreign - Markis Kido, Lee Chong Wei, Supanida Katethong andCarsten Mogensen,

Mumbai Rockets

India players - Prannoy Kumar, RM Gurusaidutt, Mannu Attri andRuthwika Gadde,

Foreign - Han Li, Liu Zi Die, Chayut Triyachart, Vladmir Ivanov, Mathias Boe and Kamilla Rytter Juhl

Awadhe Warriors

India players - B Sai Praneeth, Sourabh Verma, K Maneesha, Saina Nehwal, G Vrushali,

Foreign - Cai Yun, , Bodin Isara, Hendra Gunawan, Christinna Pedersen , S. Tanongsak

Bengaluru Topguns

India players - Anand Pawar, Sameer Verma, Kidambi Srikanth, B Sumeeth Reddy and Ashwinin Ponnappa

Foreign - Suo Dui, Tan Boon Heong, Koon Kien Keat, Joachim Fischer Nielsen and Robert Blair

Chennai Smashers

India players - PV Sindhu, Sri Krishna Priya, Pranav Chopra and N. Sikki Reddy

Foreign - Brice Leverdez, Sony Dwi Kuncoro, Simon Santoso, Chris Adcock, Toby Ng and Pia Zebadiah Bernadeth

Click here for 2016 Premier Badminton League complete schedule