Team 'Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara'
From L - R) Bollywood actors Abhay Deol, producer Ritesh Sidhwani, Farhan Akhtar, director Zoya Akhtar, Katrina Kaif and Hrithik Roshan pose for a picture during a promotional event for their movie "Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara" (Life won't come twice) at a multiplex in Ahmedabad July 8, 2011.Reuters

Bollywood's leading film awards, the Filmfare Awards, held its 57th edition on Sunday, in Mumbai.

The results, however, seem to suggest that box office performances and the awards rarely go hand-in-hand. Films from two of biggest males acts in the industry - Shah Rukh Khan ("Ra. One" and "Don 2: The King is Back") and Salman Khan ("Ready", "Bodyguard") which did well at the box office, failed to gather any significant acclaim at the event.

Interestingly, other big-name male actors - Aamir Khan and Saif Ali Khan - also came up empty, despite fielding successful films like "Dhobi Ghat" and "Aarakshan".

The big winner was Zoya Akhtar's "Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara" (ZNMD), which won seven titles, including those of Best Film, Best Director and Best Supporting Actor for Farhan Akhtar.

The lead honors went to Ranbir Kapoor and Vidya Balan, for "Rockstar" and "The Dirty Picture", respectively. Priyanka Chopra also struck gold, winning the Best Female Actor (Critics) award for "7 Khoon Maaf".

List of Winners at the 2012 Filmfare Awards...

Best Film: "Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara"

Best Director: Zoya Akhtar for "Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara"

Best Male Actor: Ranbir Kapoor , "Rockstar"

Best Female Actor: Vidya Balan , "The Dirty Picture"

Best Dialogue: Farhan Akhtar, "Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara"

Best Screenplay: Akshat Verrma, "Delhi Belly"

Best Story: Sanjay Chauhan ,"I Am Kalam"

Best Male Actor (Critics): Ranbir Kapoor for "Rockstar"

Best Film (Critics): "Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara"

Best Female Actor (Critics): Priyanka Chopra, "7 Khoon Maaf"

Best Supporting Actor (Female): Rani Mukerji "No One Killed Jessica"

Best Supporting Actor (Male): Farhan Akthar , "Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara"

Special Jury Certificate mention: Partho Gupte, "Stanley Ka Dabba"

Scene of the Year Award: "The Dirty Picture"

Best Debut (Female): Parineeti Chopra, "Ladies vs Ricky Bahl"

Best Debut (Male): Vidyut Jhamwal, "Force"

Best Debut Director: Abhinay Deo, "Delhi Belly"

R.D. Burman Award for upcoming talent in field of music: Krishna, "Tanu Weds Manu"

Best Playback singer (Female): Usha Uthap and Rekha Bhardwaj, 'Darling', "7 Khoon Maaf"

Best Playback singer (Male): Mohit Chauhan, 'Jo bhi mein', "Rockstar"

Best Lyrics: Irshad Kamil, 'Nadaan Parindey', "Rockstar"

Best Music Director: A. R. Rahman, "Rockstar"

Lifetime Achievement Award: Aruna Irani

Best Production Design: Shashank Tere, "Delhi Belly"

Best Editing: Huzefa Lokhandwala, "Delhi Belly"

Best Cinematography: Carlos Catalan, "Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara"

Best Action: Action Concepts, "Don 2: The King is Back"

Best Background Score: Ranjit Barot, "Shaitan"

Best VFX: Red Chillies VFX, "Ra.One"

Best Choreography: Bosco-Caesar, 'Senorita', "Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara"

Best Costume: Niharika Khan, "The Dirty Picture"

Best Sound Design: Nakul Kamte, "Don 2- The King is Back"