Pakistan, South Africa
Pakistan's Shafiq plays a shot during the fourth day of the second test cricket match against South Africa in DubaiReuters

Pakistan and South Africa will play two Twenty20 matches with the One Day International (ODI) series coming to an end. The first match will be played at Dubai International Cricket Stadium, Dubai on Wednesday.

Where to Watch Live:

The 1st T20 match will begin at 09:30 pm IST on Wednesday  and it will be telecast live on Ten Cricket and Ten HD in India, and on PTV Sports in Pakistan. It will also be live streamed on PTV official website (live streaming available only for Pakistan).


Pakistan will come into the match after a humiliating 4-1 series defeat to South Africa. They will be low on confidence following the recent debacle but T20 being a different format all together, they will be keen to avenge the ODI series loss. The fact that they won four of the seven T20 games played against the Proteas should boost their confidence.

On the other hand, South Africa are in good shape despite inconsistency of some players. They will come into the contest after crafting a huge series win, and will be looking forward to carry the form into the Twenty20 matches.

Previous Meetings:

Pakistan have 4-3 win-loss record against South Africa out of seven T20 matches played so far.

Team News:

Pakistan have made changes to the squad. Mohammad Hafeez will lead the team and players like Misbah-ul-Haq, Wahab Riaz, Asad Shafiq and Sarfraz Ahmed, who played in ODI, have been left out. Shoaib Malik and Abdul Razzaq have been included in the team.

Faf du Plessis will lead South Africa in Twenty20 matches. Robin Peterson, Vernon Philander and Graeme Smith, who were in the ODI squad, have been replaced by Henry Davids, Aaron Phangiso and David Wiese.


Pakistan were in dire straits with middle order collapsing throughout the ODI series. The return of Shoaib Malik and Abdul Razzaq to the squad should consolidate the team. They have big hitters in the team who can win matches.

South Africa certainly look a stronger team with right mix of big hitters and quick bowlers. While the likes of AB de Villiers, Hashim Amla, JP Duminy and others are capable of sending the ball to the crowd, fast bowlers like Dale Steyn, Morne Morkel, and Ryan McLaren can rip through the batting line-up.


South Africa are the favourites to win.


Pakistan: Mohammad Hafeez (captain), Umar Akmal, Umar Amin, Saeed Ajmal, Abdur Rehman, Junaid Khan, Mohammad Irfan, Ahmed Shehzad, Nasir Jamshed, Shahid Afridi, Sohaib Maqsood, Sohail Tanvir, Abdul Razzaq, Shoaib Malik

South Africa: Faf du Plessis (captain), Quinton de Kock, Hashim Amla, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Imran Tahir, Morne Morkel, Dale Steyn, Ryan McLaren, David Miller, Wayne Parnell, Lonwabo Tsotsobe, Henry Davids, Aaron Phangiso, David Wiese