Passenger traind derails in Maharashtra (Reuters)
Passenger traind derails in Maharashtra (Reuters)Reuters

At least 18 passengers are dead and more than 100 injured as the engine and four coaches of the Diva-Sawantwadi Express derailed on Sunday morning, near Nagothane in Raigad district, Maharashtra.

The incident took place at around 9.30 am in a tunnel, when the bogies and the engine derailed between Nagothane and Roha stations on the Konkan railway route.

Rescue teams have rushed to the spot and the locals are understood to be helping them in the operation. The injured have been shifted to Roha for medical treatment.

There are reports that parts of the train were struck inside the tunnel. However, central railways public relations officer AK Singh has denied it.

"This is not true. The train had crossed the tunnel before it got derailed. Several people have been injured and we are trying to get more details about the passengers," Singh was quoted as saying by the The Times of India.

The railway ministry has announced that the families of the victims will be given a compensation of ₹2 lakh, ₹50,000 to those who are grievously injured and ₹10,000 to passengers with minor injuries. 

Following the derailment, passenger-carrying trains on the Konana railway route have been cancelled/short terminated/diverted. In a press release from the Konkan railway, it has been stated that the passengers of the cancelled/terminated trains will be given refunds.

The following train has been cancelled

1. 12052 Janshatabdi Express on 04/05/2014

The following trains have been short terminated

1. 10104 Madgaon- CSTM Mandovi Exp on 04/05/2014 at Thivim.

2. 50106 Sawantwadi-DIVA Passenger on 04/05/2014 at Ratnagiri.

3. 50104 Ratnagiri - Dadar on 04/05/2014 at Roha.

The following trains will be diverted

UP Trains

Train no. 12617 Ernakulam-Nizamuddin Mangala Exp which left Ernakulam on 3/5/2014

Train no. 16346 Trivandum - LTT Netravati Exp which left Trivandrum on 3/5/2014

Train no. 16312 Kochuveli - Bikaner Exp which left Kochuveli on 3/5/2014

Train no. 22476 Coimbatore - Bikaner AC Exp which left Coimbatore on 4/5/2014

Konkan railway officials have rushed to the accident spot to help in the rescue operations. 

Passengers can call on 02352- 228176 / 228951 / 228954 to get details.

(Ed: VP)