Roger Federer Wimbledon 2015
Roger Federer will look to continue his majestic form against Gilles SimonReuters

After a ripper of a final women's quarterfinal between Serena Williams and Victoria Azarenka, it is over to the gentlemen, led by the top four, to make those jaws drop and bring out those oohs and aahs with regularity on men's quarterfinal day at Wimbledon on Wednesday.

The top four seeds have made it through to the final-eight, with defending champion and world number one Novak Djokovic given the biggest scare in the fourth round.

Kevin Anderson looked on course for a massive upset after taking the first two sets, but then Djokovic came roaring back to take the next two to push the match to a decider. The final set had to be moved to Tuesday, from Monday, owing to bad light, and the Serbian showed just enough quality in that deciding set to setup a quarterfinal against Marin Cilic, the US Open champion.

It should be an interesting matchup between the two players, with Djokovic again running into someone with a big serve, but also combined with a more well-rounded game.

Before Djokovic and Cilic hit the Centre Court, though, there is the match that the British public, in particular, will watch with baited breath, hoping Andy Murray does not give them too many heart attacks.

Murray is scheduled to play talented Canadian Vasek Pospisil in the first quarterfinal on Centre Court, and having negotiated big-serving Croat Ivo Karlovic in the fourth round, the No.3 seed will know if he plays up to his potential, the semifinal place will be his for the taking.

Pospisil has been playing really well, however, and Murray will need to bring his A-Game to keep his hopes of a second Wimbledon title alive.

Over on the No.1 Court, the Swiss men will be in the spotlight, with Roger Federer starting the action against Frenchman Gilles Simon.

Federer has a good record against Simon, and smart money is on the seven-time champ easing through, considering the manner in which he has played all Championships.

Simon has the game to threaten Federer, but if the No.2 seed gets into his groove, there is very little the 12th seed will be able to do.

Rounding off the action is Stanislas Wawrinka and Richard Gasquet, a quarterfinal of the two single-handed backhands.

Both players are a joy to watch when in full flow, and this should be a contest for the purists, full of delectable shots, engaging rallies and perfect winners.

Wimbledon 2015 Order of Play: Men's quarterfinals (play starts 5.30 pm IST, 1 pm BST, 8 am ET): Centre Court: Vasek Pospisil vs 3-Andy Murray

1-Novak Djokovic vs 9-Marin Cilic.

No.1 Court: 2-Roger Federer vs 12-Gilles Simon

4-Stanislas Wawrinka vs 21-Richard Gasquet.

Women's doubles quarterfinals (not before 10 pm IST, 5.30 pm BST, 12.30 pm ET): 1-Sania Mirza/Martina Hingis vs 9-Casey Dellacqua/Yaroslava Shvedova (Court to be decided).

Also read